Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
This is a nice way to prepare squash. I reduced the butter to 2 tsp and added a little more onion and a clove of garlic to the cooking water during the last 4 minutes of boiling. I would reduce the milk next time to about 1/8 cup. I used 1.5 lb of yellow squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
This is great if you like yellow squash. I make it a little differently though. I grate the squash in my food processor (this way I don't have to mash it after it is cooked) and then put it and the onion in a casserole dish with the lid on and stick it in the microwave. I have a fresh vegetable button on my microwave so I just use that twice. After the second time, I take the squash out, drain it and add the rest of the ingredients. I only use 1/4 cup of milk though, or it is too liquid for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Quick to prepare and Good! Sliced 1/2" and boiled the larger slices 3 minutes, then added smaller pieces and continued boiling for 5 minutes. Mashed slightly. Watch squash closely after adding milk. Creamy and a nice subtle flavor. Hubby said it was the best squash recipe he'd ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
Thanks for submitting this quick and tasty recipe. Our neighbor had given us a few Yellow Squash and I had no idea how to add some flavor to this type of squash. Limited on ingredients but still need something quick and yummy...this is makes a great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This recipe is great! I boiled the squash in chicken broth, as suggested. Then after I mashed it up a bit I added lots of chopped up onion and a tablespoon of flour to the milk before adding to the squash. It is DELICIOUS! I didn't even have to nag my kids to eat it! I had a little left over and added some hot peppers from my garden to it and gobbled the last bit up that night. Thank you for the great recipe! Will be making again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This was surprisingly good. I steamed/boiled yellow squash slices and zucchini slices. I didn't drain much of the water. Added onion powder and black pepper. Added a small amount of shredded cheese and a small amount of milk. Mixed it up and served it as a side. The whole family thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I used to order the "steamed squash" at a diner in Rhode Island, years ago while stationed in New England in the Coast Guard. This recipe reminded of that wonderful experience. So far I've been asked to make this again and again. Sea salt, fresh cracked pepper, unsalted butter, and 2% Milk, along with fresh yellow or white onions are the only seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WallyPres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
Nice easy recipe which is very good. A perfect way to use all that summer squash. My two kids loved every bite. I used just a touch of milk and addeds fresh garlic. Also I boiled the squash in chicken broth which give it a little bit more flavor. My family wants to make it again and again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
My husband hates almost any kind of vegie, but he loved this one. I never learned how to cook.. so thanks for listing some old fashioned basic recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
my family has been making the for years, but boiling chopped onions with squash...and final step would be put in a casseroole dish, crumble saltine crackers over it and bake in oven til crackers are slightly golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katamom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States