Yellow Squash Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I cooked my squash in 1/2 cup water, drained and smashed with potato masher. Sauteed onions in a tablespoon or 2 of the butter (not margarine) while cooking squash. Used cream of chicken soup and threw in chicken meat from a rotisserie chicken purchased at deli. Omitted the egg.I also have made this with a package of seasoned cornbread dressing when I didn't feel like making cornbread. Delicious either way!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Great way to use squash from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Outstanding! I used cream of celery instead of mushroom, doubled the squash, butter, and corn bread, more than doubled the sage (we love sage), and left out the sugar on account of using a sweeter corn bread recipe. We don't like squash, but we love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This is always a hit at our Fourth of July celebration. I always use either Pepperidge Farms cornbread stuffing mix or a box of Stove Top. There is plenty of seasonings in either and this eliminates the addition of sage. I agree with extending the baking time in order to get a crispy brown top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I have been making this for years. You don't need to add water when cooking squash. They are mostly water anyway. Just make thin slices, add a little margarine or butter, cover tightly in a heavy skillet or pot and turn the burner down very low. It will cook in its own juices. You can put the onions in there with it if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Made this yesterday. It's awesome. Both of my teenage boys said no to it because they "don't like squash". I made them try it and they both changed their minds. One took a second bowl back to his computer with him. This morning I noticed one of the leftover containers was missing! Agree with another reviewer that it comes out a bit mushy. I might try reducing some of the liquid next time. Will try using Healthy Request soup next time too. Doubled fine. I used Marie Calendar's Mix for the cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Made slight changes to the recipe based on what I had on hand. I a little over 3 cups of squash (4 small squash), poultry seasoning vs sage and omitted the sugar and milk altogether. The taste was better than I expected. The reason for only three stars is due to an inconsistency with the cooking time. 30 minutes at 350 is DEFINITELY not enough time. After 30 minutes I still had a pan of yellow goo. I raised the temperature to 400 and baked it for an additional 20 minutes to get it done. Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Excellent twist on Southern cornbread dressing. Only. Changes i made were adding a chopped celery stalk and instead of steaming I boiled the onion, squash, celery and sage in 3 cups of chicken stock,then added the remaining ingredients before baking. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grave Flower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunlap, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I love this! The onlly thing I changed was to add a few chopped jalapenos and a can of well drained Rotel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Awesome Recipe. I have tried several others and this one is by far our favorite. Add a little poultry seasoning to really make this recipe pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States