Yellow Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
Hey yall, this southern girl added bacon sauteed with the onion prior to cooking. I have found squash is always good with bacon, and my husband loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
680 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I'd give this 10 stars if I could. My boyfriend's aunt made something similar for us last year and I've been trying to find a recipe like it ever since. This has to be as close as it gets! I followed the recipe except I had to use 2 zucchini (I was out of yellow squash), but the green with the yellow actually looked nice - gave it some color. I HIGHLY recommend this recipe to ANYONE! My mom always made the kind with sour cream and cream of mushroom/chicken soup - this is 10 times better! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
402 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
The first time I made this recipe, I found it to be a little to bland for my taste. To compensate, the next time I made it, I sprinkled the squash liberally with dried oregano while it was steaming, and added a couple of pinches of nutmeg to the squash when adding the cheese and cracker mix. A definite improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
392 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
This is a very good casserole. I gave it 4 stars because after reading reviews I modified it a little. I added 1/2 t. garlic powder, 1/2 t. garlic pepper, only 1 egg, and 2 additional T. butter. If you buy the Ritz 4 pack, 35 crackers is one pack. I think garlic is a must for this recipe unless there is someone out there that doesn't like garlic. Over all a very good recipe. My son said it was not his favorite, hubby said, "I like it fine". As for me, I really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Brovo to the creator of this recipe. My husband couldn't get enough of it and was hinted he wanted it for breakfast. My three and four year old like it too. This is truly one of my favorite kinds of recipes quick and easy. I will be making this again soon and can't wait to share this recipe with my friends. Changes made per suggested by other reviews: I added 10-15 extra crakers, added extra squash, added 1/2 small can of diced green chilies, cooked my squash until tender but not falling apart, omitted the butter on top. Sound like a lot but it really isn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmadeez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
Really good!!! I love summer squash and this is a good way to use all the crooknecks from my garden. The texture beneath the crust was mushy (but still yummy) so I tried baking the casserole for 10-15 min and then putting the crust on to brown. It wasn't quite as mushy this way, and I also didnt simmer the veggies first- they still get plenty tender for my taste but you avoid a mushy product. Will try adding some meat next time for a main dish! Thanx for a good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This is one of my favorites. Instead of crackers I used corn flakes. Also I found if you substitue squash for zucchini it tastes great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
This was absolutely great. I cut this in half for the three in our family. One small/med squash is approx one cup sliced. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
Love this dish. As with most cooking, I always add more spices than the recipe calls for, and with some garlic and steak salt makes this wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAUNGST

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
Absolutely delicious! The only thing I did different was cooked it in an oval casserole. It would have been to thin in a 9x13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States