Yellow Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Excellent! I cooked the squash in butter until soft, no water, then added Panko instead of crackers, spread in baking dish. Layer of shredded cheddar cheese on top of the squash, (the Panko absorbs any moisture) then poured milk and egg mixture over the cheese. Panko breadcrumbs on top, dotted with butter and baked per directions. Turned out perfectly! This is definitely the best Squash Casserole I have ever made. The Panko makes it so light and crispy on top. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
My husband and I loved this. The store was out of yellow squash so I used zucchini squash. Also, I did not precook in skillet of water. I just put raw squash and onions in oven. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Loved it! And I don't even like squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I used zucchini in place of the yellow squash and the family loved it. I was also short a few crackers so I added some panko - a substitution that was virtually unnoticeable. I also reduced the total amount of butter by half - also not noticeably missing anything. Overall, I thought this recipe was easy and reasonably quick. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Even my husband, who doesn't like squash, loved it!! Yah we can have this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This is a calorie-laden recipe, heavy like quiche. I am calorie-conscious, and prefer squash/onion/salt/pepper cooked in a pot with a little water. Drain the liquid, and add a small amount of butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Exactly the way my mom always made it - a delicious southern dish! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Delish! Might add this in the Thanksgiving holiday menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Desfosses-Gast

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klemme, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is good, but even though I added spices it was still a bit bland. Next time I will add a little more cheese and some bacon. I thin sliced my squash, used it raw and baked it 45 minutes. It was perfectly done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
i had freezed some squash from the garden,so i steamed it till tender,and proceeded with the recipe,oh my what a delight,will put in my recipe box.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States