Yellow Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Loved it! The onions really make this pop- don't leave them out! Next time I might add a bit more cheese, but I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
There are many many recipes for squash casserole. I have made several and have eaten many, however, this recipe is one of my favorites. It is easy and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
just made this. enjoyed it alot but think i will try bell peppers and more spices for a little like maybe hint of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thomas Walls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I made this a couple nights ago and it came out great! I made some modifications: I sliced 4 cups of yellow squash squash and a bit of zucchini I needed to use up, tossed it with salt and placed it in a colander set over a bowl to let some of the water drain out. Besides that and subbing milk for heavy cream (since I happened to have it on hand), adding more cheese to the mix (I got carried away with the grater), and using a smaller dish (I like a taller/thicker looking casserole - this did increase the cooking time a bit), I did not change the preparation. Well, when I write it all out it seems like I changed a lot... So, let's say that this is flexible recipe that is difficult to mess up, tastes great and uses readily available ingredients! Try it! ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I made this for my family, and they loved it!!! Even my picky kids, who usually will not touch squash loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by priara72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toccoa, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lula, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Fantastic! I only added a bit of extra squash, crackers, and cheese to make it a little firmer. Also, I followed the advice of another reviewer and cooked most of the squash tender as the recipe calls for, but, kept some of the squash raw until it went into the casserole dish. This made for a nice mixture of texture and prevented mush from happening. Be sure to cook to a light/med brown top. This has to be one of my favorites so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Delicious! After reading many reviews I jazzed it up by starting with 8 slices of thick cut applewood bacon fried in a skillet. Removed the bacon and add a whole small thin sliced onion and one diced jalepeno to bacon grease. I added closer to 8 cups of squash sliced 1/4" thick and quartered to the hot onions in the skillet and stir fried them until almost soft. If the squash is large try slicing and quartering then cut out the large seed section to prevent a mushy casserole. A pack of GLUTEN FREE rice rounds crushed were exchanged for the butter cracker along with using Monterey Jack cheese. I used fresh ground Himalayan Pink sea salt over the top and cooked the dish for about 30 minutes. No butter needed when using the bacon. Bacon makes the dish. Oh yeah and I topped the serving with a small dollop of sour cream. Decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Skywatch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
It was great I cook mine on stove top I deleted the eggs and milk work out fine for me..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunni369
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
My husband and I loved this! Will be making it again soon. Might add more squash next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I like this recipe, and so does my family, I read some of the other reviews and think I will try to take out one egg and add a little extra butter, I also do add a little garlic powder for just a little more flavor, but all in all its a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Grainger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States