Yellow Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Fantastic! I only added a bit of extra squash, crackers, and cheese to make it a little firmer. Also, I followed the advice of another reviewer and cooked most of the squash tender as the recipe calls for, but, kept some of the squash raw until it went into the casserole dish. This made for a nice mixture of texture and prevented mush from happening. Be sure to cook to a light/med brown top. This has to be one of my favorites so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Delicious! After reading many reviews I jazzed it up by starting with 8 slices of thick cut applewood bacon fried in a skillet. Removed the bacon and add a whole small thin sliced onion and one diced jalepeno to bacon grease. I added closer to 8 cups of squash sliced 1/4" thick and quartered to the hot onions in the skillet and stir fried them until almost soft. If the squash is large try slicing and quartering then cut out the large seed section to prevent a mushy casserole. A pack of GLUTEN FREE rice rounds crushed were exchanged for the butter cracker along with using Monterey Jack cheese. I used fresh ground Himalayan Pink sea salt over the top and cooked the dish for about 30 minutes. No butter needed when using the bacon. Bacon makes the dish. Oh yeah and I topped the serving with a small dollop of sour cream. Decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Skywatch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
It was great I cook mine on stove top I deleted the eggs and milk work out fine for me..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunni369
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
My husband and I loved this! Will be making it again soon. Might add more squash next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I like this recipe, and so does my family, I read some of the other reviews and think I will try to take out one egg and add a little extra butter, I also do add a little garlic powder for just a little more flavor, but all in all its a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Grainger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Easy to make and YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Followed the recipe!! Moist & cheesy at the same time!! A little plain, but husband liked it (not a big squash fan) so I didn't alter recipe. You could add herbs & spices that you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
It was excellent! Made this last night for my family and we all loved it. Great consistency and flavor. Will definitely make this again. Especially with all this wonderful fresh summer squash from our garden. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Great recipe! I added garlic when softening the onions and squash. I think I'm going to have to try adding bacon next, maybe some green chili or jalapenos. The possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caren Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States