Yellow Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I made minor adjustments as the original recipe sounded pretty good as is. I cut the butter down quite a bit (both inside and omitted the pats on the top),added garlic powder (next time I'll probably saute minced garlic with the veggies), and I added sliced kielbasa sausage to it to make it a main dish. Not typically the first meat you think of for a casserole but its what I had on hand and it was quick. Better yet it tasted great with the squash. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This was a good recipe with some changes from previous reviews. I omitted the butter and decreased to 1 egg and 1/3 cup milk and did not miss it. Added crumbled bacon and used 1/2 zucchini and 1/2 yellow squash as well as a Mexican blend cheese and a hint of garlic. I did not have crackers so used a Panko bread crumb. I will decrease the original cooking of the zucchini and squash so that it holds up a little better during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I loved this! It came out perfectly! Some people suggested sauteing the onions and adding garlic and others suggested adding bacon, so I decided to saute the onions and garlic in bacon grease and cut back on the butter. To be honest, I didn't try it the original way first, but I can't imagine it tasting any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. There was way too much fat. There's no need for 2T of butter in a recipe that already has buttery Ritz crackers within it. The egg is an attempt at creating a binder to hold all of it together, but it didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Delish! Changes: Rather than boiling the squash and onions, I sautéed them with a little olive oil and butter, and I added a squashed garlic clove; I also added 1/2 sleeve of ritz crackers. Comfort food to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
this was wonderful Iv made this a lot its great each time. I don't change a thing God bless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gram

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I don't know, I didn't care it. I followed the directions and it came out a little mushy for me.. The top was fine but the inside was just to soggy. My husband didn't care for it either. I love yellow squash and was looking for different ways to prepare, but this wasn't a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Whoever said the eggs ruined this recipe apparently did not bother to make it. I've been making a squash like this for years and it is perfect. The only thing I do differently is put a splash of red hot sauce in it to spice it up just a bit and I mash up the squash instead of leaving whole slices. In Texas we grow a lot of yellow crookneck squash so a good recipe like this is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I have made this recipe several times. It brings great taste to a fairly mild squash. I have added a bit of parmesan cheese to it as well and is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I added 1 can of cream of chicken soup to this recipe. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States