Yellow Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I tweaked the recipe for richness. Added an entire onion (suppose it then became a squash and onion casserole) and parboiled both the onions and squash in chicken stock. Also added parmesan cheese, freshly minced garlic, and extra butter (Smart Balance Omega) to the egg and 2% low fat milk mixture which I used my Vitamix to blend well. Also added extra crackers. I plan to use freshly grated parmesan cheese and add mushrooms the next time I prepare this dish. I won't be able to eat this often, but will enjoy every bite (calorie) when I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Great way to eat squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Good, would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This recipe is fantastic, people who don't even like squash love this...:) Thank you.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Oh wow!!! Love this dish. I have already made it at least 5 times since I found this recipe. I have had to use different crackers, generally using whatever crackers are currently in my pantry, from garlic herb, to buttery. All taste swell, and you can add bread crumbs if low on crackers. I usually add more cheese and mix up the cheese, but I'm a cheese lover, and I've also added fresh garlic when sautéing my onions, but absolutely love the dish even when following the recipe exactly. This is one side dish that is never leftover! I haven't run across anyone that does not like it so far! And the best part, it's so incredibly easy to make, and does not require a large amount of ingredients or mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Honestly, this was nasty! I followed the recipe to a 'T'. It was soggy and had no flavor. I couldn't bring myself to eat it. I'm not even a picky eater. I will never make this again. Ewww.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I used zuchinni instead of yellow squash and sauteed the zuchinni and onions instead of simmering in water. Turned out absolutely delicious. Even my husband who doesn't like zuchhini loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
We loved this recipe. This one's a keeper! Only changes I made were using chicken stock instead of water, and I adding a little garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Loved this! I struggled to find a summer squash recipe that didn't include cream-of-whatever soup. I try to steer clear of processed foods, so instead of the butter crackers, I created a topping using panko breadcrumbs, which I toasted in a pan with a bit of butter. I added a few tablespoons of freshly grated romano cheese to mimic the saltiness of crackers. These simple ingredients really make for a great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This was a hit with my family and when I made it the second time I added a 4 oz. can of diced green chili's which made it a bigger hit. I had more squash from our garden than I knew what to do with so I made up this recipe, packed it in small tins with lids from the dollar store and put them in the freezer. Now we'll have it all winter too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norco, California, USA
Living In: Millville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States