Yellow Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I so love this recipe!!!! This was my first summer to have a garden and since my yellow squash and zucchini came in I have made this casserole three times. It is also good to use both squash in it. Great recipe and my husband (who does not like squash) likes this. Great job.----Robin-TN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffany Mitchell Door
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This one was a winner with my family. My husband especially liked the crust on top. I looked at the other reviews and added garlic powder and used melted butter on top instead of the pats of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Loved it! The onions really make this pop- don't leave them out! Next time I might add a bit more cheese, but I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
There are many many recipes for squash casserole. I have made several and have eaten many, however, this recipe is one of my favorites. It is easy and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
just made this. enjoyed it alot but think i will try bell peppers and more spices for a little like maybe hint of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thomas Walls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I made this a couple nights ago and it came out great! I made some modifications: I sliced 4 cups of yellow squash squash and a bit of zucchini I needed to use up, tossed it with salt and placed it in a colander set over a bowl to let some of the water drain out. Besides that and subbing milk for heavy cream (since I happened to have it on hand), adding more cheese to the mix (I got carried away with the grater), and using a smaller dish (I like a taller/thicker looking casserole - this did increase the cooking time a bit), I did not change the preparation. Well, when I write it all out it seems like I changed a lot... So, let's say that this is flexible recipe that is difficult to mess up, tastes great and uses readily available ingredients! Try it! ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I made this for my family, and they loved it!!! Even my picky kids, who usually will not touch squash loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by priara72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toccoa, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lula, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Fantastic! I only added a bit of extra squash, crackers, and cheese to make it a little firmer. Also, I followed the advice of another reviewer and cooked most of the squash tender as the recipe calls for, but, kept some of the squash raw until it went into the casserole dish. This made for a nice mixture of texture and prevented mush from happening. Be sure to cook to a light/med brown top. This has to be one of my favorites so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Delicious! After reading many reviews I jazzed it up by starting with 8 slices of thick cut applewood bacon fried in a skillet. Removed the bacon and add a whole small thin sliced onion and one diced jalepeno to bacon grease. I added closer to 8 cups of squash sliced 1/4" thick and quartered to the hot onions in the skillet and stir fried them until almost soft. If the squash is large try slicing and quartering then cut out the large seed section to prevent a mushy casserole. A pack of GLUTEN FREE rice rounds crushed were exchanged for the butter cracker along with using Monterey Jack cheese. I used fresh ground Himalayan Pink sea salt over the top and cooked the dish for about 30 minutes. No butter needed when using the bacon. Bacon makes the dish. Oh yeah and I topped the serving with a small dollop of sour cream. Decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Skywatch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
It was great I cook mine on stove top I deleted the eggs and milk work out fine for me..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunni369
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States