Yellow Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
Wonderful flavor. Even the kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
The recipe came out a little bit eggy for me, but the white wine was a nice touch for a squash casserole; I liked that combination. It also improved as leftovers, which is an additional plus. Very easy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Not very flavorful, but I'm a person who likes a little spice to a dish. Also a little eggy for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Meidinger

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ashley, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This is a delicious squash casserole. My wife use Gewurztraminer wine and it was great in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This was a great recipe, I added onion and that made it really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
The best thing ever to do with those ubiquitous summer squash. After reading other reviews, wanted to avoid the "eggy" thing, so removed one of the egg yolks. Added 4 oz. of fresh, sliced mushrooms and a bit of thinly sliced yellow onion, as well as 1/2 tsp. of Hot Chinese Mustard.(Think Dijon would have worked well, too.) Steamed the squash for 6 min. to retain a vestige of vitamins. No salt or pepper. Shredded a little extra cheese on top, and baked @ 350 for 45 min., to match something else already in the oven. My husband and I both loved it. Will never turn down an offer for yellow squash from a gardener again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
We enjoyed this very much, I did only use 1 egg due to reading the reviews and I also added garlic, just seems I have to put garlic in most everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
wonderful casserole that really pleased my family, plus it utilitzes squash that is overflowing in my freezer. Will make this over and over and will recommend to everyone who loves squash and cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anthony, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Very delicious. I didn't have any egg on hand so I just added about half again as much cheese and 3 tablespoons of flour. I also sprinkled some extra cheese on top and a mixture of 1/4 cup bread crumbs and 1 1/2 tablespoons of olive oil. The topping added an extra crunch that made the dish more enjoyable. I also only needed to cook the dish for about 15 minutes since the squash was already cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I too eliminated 1 egg as several people suggested. I added about 1/2 a cup of thinly sliced yellow onion and didn't bother to cook it before mixing it in with the other ingredients and it turned out just fine. I also added some extra cheese on top and the recommended 1/4 of breadcrumbs with some drizzled olive oil. I would probably add 1/2 cup of breadcrumbs next time and perhaps try some mustard. The wine definitely added a unique touch. Certainly a nice spin on traditional squash casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States