Yellow Squash and Corn Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Made a few changes.. try using fresh corn and then scrape off the kernels with a knife instead of cream corn ( added a dollop of cream) .. two ears of corn is enough, just boil in water about 10 min. Also saute the onions, garlic, and squash with butter. Do this until the onions caramelize, I also used flour, corn meal(4:1), baking powder and salt mixture, instead of a baking mix. Mixed two cheeses cheddar and Parmesan with cheddar on top. No left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This is a pretty good recipe! Very yummy! The only comment I have for it is that I wish I had used even more veggies. The mix takes up more space than anticipated and makes for uneven bites. Some are nice and vegetabley, while others are all strange batter-fluff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mell42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Light, flavorful, great fall side-dish recipe! I went 50-50 yellow squash and zucchini to add some color, but otherwise followed recipe exactly. It might just be my oven, but it needed at least 10 min. more time than recipe suggested. Thanks for a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Super easy and delicious! I followed the recipe exactly (except my dish was an 8x8) and had no problems. It was a big hit at Thanksgiving. Next time I'll try adding some zucchini too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I made this with fresh organic yellow squash from our garden. Used one teaspoon of Splenda "Sugar Blend for Baking" and 15 ounces of cream corn. Both my wife and I thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I tried this recipe for Thanksgiving. I was looking for something that combined something different with summer squash which i'm crazy about.I subbed 1/4c.cheddar cheese instead of parmesan(my husband doesn't care for it)and,i used fluffy pancake mix 1/2c. in place of the bicuit mix i don't normally use mixes.It came out very tasty my whole family enjoyed it!I think next time i'll add a little milk or cream to help with preventing drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXwildchild

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Very good! I was rummaging through my cabinets 2 days before Christmas for ingredients to make something to take to our family's holiday gathering. I found this recipe and had everything to make it. It sounded a little too "yellow" to me, so I added parsley and some red and green pepper for color. Beautiful and very tasty! I did find it took about 45 minutes to bake though. I'll definitely be making it again, my husband and son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
So good...I cut down on the sugar a little bit since people said it was sweet. I also had problems with it taking a while, I finally took it out of the oven after 1 hour, and the onions were still kind of hard. I also added crushed ritz crackers and cheese on the top. I thought it was great...my husband didnt like it so much because of the squash and onions being crunchy still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily h.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Wonderful dish! I didn't have garlic on hand so I substituted 2 tsp of garlic salt with parsley. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
It was ok but I thought for me to much filler and not enough squash I would add more squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States