Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by 23DAISYS
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I thought this was delicious. I used a serrano pepper instead of jalapeno because I had an abundance of them and I did add some minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
My husband, the veggie hater, asked me to make this again - a miracle! I loved it, too. I did add three cloves of garlic, used turkey bacon and a bit of sesame oil and used salt and pepper rather than soy sauce. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harvestdance

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I liked this one a lot. It was nice to have a new way to cook squash. I didn't have any bacon, but I used salt pork in my skillet with a little olive oil. I think the final result was pretty close. I didn't add any soy sauce because it tasted so good without it. I loved the extra spice the jalapeno gave it, but didn't make it too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Ripon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Seven or eight stars! The best yellow squash recipe EVER. I didn't have the jalapeno peppers, but I added a green bell pepper instead. Both me and my husband went over the moon! Thnk you, Ann Girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
Loved this squash. Just different enough from our usual, but will go with so many dishes. I used poblano instead of jalapenos since we're a little wimpy about too much heat. Thanks, Ann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Prepared this as written, including the unusual addition (at least for me) of the fresh, chopped jalapenos - but I couldn't resist adding some fresh, minced garlic too. Colorful and delicious, even though the soy sauce kind of dulled the vibrant, fresh yellow color of the squash. The taste by adding it, however, made up for its somewhat compromised appearance. Loved the addition of the jalapenos, which provided a splash of color and interest more than it did taste. And, as is usually the case, bacon makes it even better! Nice, creative twist on the same ol' squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Super yummy! The yellow squash (and everything else) from my garden is starting to come in now, and we just came home from a week at camp to find tons of it! So this fit the bill as an awesome side dish with pesto pasta for dinner. The only change I made was adding a little of my cilantro also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I cooked this one with a salmon recipe for my 3 1/2 yr old son, husband and a houseguest. (Even our picky son ate it!) It was really easy and we all loved it! I also substituted green pepper because jalepeno's weren't readily available. Many rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arbutus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This is a very easy and tasty way to prepare squash. My kids seem to eat anything with bacon. I drained most of the bacon grease out of the pan and omitted the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
this was so great! it is amazing how far a little soy sauce can go in terms of flavoring! i didn't have a jalapeno so i left it out, and i used a shallot instead of a regular onion. i will definitely make this again sometime this summer, probably with the jalapeno pepper to give it some "kick."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States