Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
excellent - I added a bit more bacon, but he jalepeno makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourlittlefeet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This was a great way to cook squash. A huge change from the usual way it gets prepared (butter and brown sugar). I am not sure if the recipe needs a little tweaking to add more flavor or if our squash was just totally flavorless (hard to tell since I usually avoid squash). I did notice the soy sauce had gotten a stronger taste from the portion that was not served out of the pan. I may prep this first and let it sit on a warm burner so it can soak in a little more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gberdan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Very tasty, I modified it a bit by leaving out the pepper. Excellent way to eat squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
great new way to eat squash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hunter

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I used 4 slices of center cut bacon (more bacon, less fat). I added 1 clove of garlic and sauted the onion and garlic first in the bacon grease, and then added a medium squash (seeded), a medium zucchini (seeded), 1/4 of a jalapeno chopped fine and 4 oz. of baby portabella mushrooms. After sauting for 8-10 minutes, I added a little chicken broth and covered it until the veggies were just tender. I removed the cover, drained the liquid and stirred in the bacon. I put cheddar cheese on top and covered until it melted. We all really liked it, even my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I made one serving and had this all to myself for dinner last night. It didn't look pretty (I don't know how they get those great photos), but it tasted great. I skipped the jalepeno, but did do the soy sauce. I also added some garlic in with with the squash and a little Mrs. Dash for some more spice. It made a great, light, dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I used 1/2 of the jalapeno & doubled the bacon. Very good altho I can't taste the soy sauce at all so I'm not sure what that adds. Regardless, we liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This was good, but really lacked something. I didn’t think of it at the time, but in hind sight I think Parmesan cheese would have given this the added zip it needed. I did skip the “dash” of soy sauce because I really didn’t think it would add much to this. Very colorful, especially since I used a red jalapeno pepper, which really made for a nice contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Really simple and quick side dish. I skipped the jalapenos and added some diced garlic. Would definitely make again. Hubby loves anything with bacon, or what he calls "meat candy"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalyana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This is very good...very spicy...but very good!! This was the first time I prepared yellow squash; I'm surprised by just how good this recipe makes yellow squash taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States