Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
This was great! I followed the recipe exactly as written and it turned out fantastic! We grew the squash in our garden and used 2 good sized specimens. The rest came from Kroger. I did use Marzetta jalapenos, 2 tablespoons or so because they didn't have fresh peppers when I was there. Even my husband, who has always said he hated yellow squash ate this up! We will definitely try it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I love when I come upon a recipe and try it even though my first reaction is, "What the HECK?!" I never would have thought to combine these ingredients. But I had a squash that needed to get used and I apparently was feeling adventuresome. SO GLAD! This is definitely one of my all-time favorite vegetable dishes. The combination of jalapeno and bacon, as well as the splash of soy combine to make something very tasty and unique. Thanks to Ann_Girl for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This was much better than I expected. I substituted turkey bacon fried in a tablespoon of canola oil, lite soy sauce and lemon pepper. Will definitely cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaRoyce Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This is delicious! We all loved it, including my 6 year old and 3 year old that usually won't eat squash. It's a keeper for sure. I followed the recipe exactly and included the jalapeno as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Cooked this tonight for a church potluck tomorrow. I had frozen sliced squash rather than fresh, and jumped the gun a little by adding the 3 bags to the pot all at once. Result was so much water cooked out of squash and onions, that they weren't firm at all by the time they were done. Ended up adding extra s&p, soy sauce, and some Slap Ya Mama seasoning. I think they were good, and hope next time they come out a little more firm. I'm sure it was user error this time, as I don't cook squash often. Still good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Excellent. We have lots of yellow squash and looking for different recipes - this was it! Especially since we had jalapenos in our garden as well as the yellows!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Loved it just the way it is! My roommate and I make this all the time, he is not a veggie person but he loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becrac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Delicious! I did however add garlic and sauteed the squash and onions in EVOO and butter. Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Great flavor. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grave Flower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunlap, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
LOVE this recipe!! I only had packaged real bacon bits on hand (like for salads) and it still turned out great! What a great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States