Yellow Split Pea and Frankfurter Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Turned out perfect and tasted just like I thought it should!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Thanks for the recipe. I loved the soup. I had about one cup of lentils, so I used that and only used 4 cups of chicken broth. I used the same amount of veggies that the recipe called for and I pureed them. I didn't have mace, so I used a pinch of nutmeg instead. I also threw in a bay leaf, some tony chachere's seasoning, salt,pepper, and garlic. I used boars head franfurters and put it all in a crock pot. My husband thought it was ok (but he's tough to please) and my daughter fished out the frankfurters and ate them. I ate 2 bowls and have been eating leftovers for lunch. I think it's super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
My husband loved this soup...something about the hot dogs that magically makes split pea soup more appealing! This is the first time that all of my split pea soup leftovers got eaten. Guess that means I have to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This was great! I added a cup of frozen corn once it was simmering. I also added some parsley flakes for color and flavor. I didn't have celery, so I used an extra carrot. Everyone really liked it. I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JesusIsTheWay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
The soup minus the hot dogs is just delicious! Next time I will use her suggestion of ham instead, and add it earlier to give the flavor time to mesh, as I think that would go a lot better than the hot dogs did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evilchicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
i live in the colder climeates of the north an must say - This is a heart warmer ans so easy to prepare! Thanks!! Robin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Great recipe!!! family loved it! added a can of tomato soup and a couple extra cans of water to it to give it a color but was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snugj4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
My family really liked this soup! Followed the recipes exactly. Very easy and quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I loved this soup-so simple to make but with great pure, depth of flavor. I don't normally put hot dogs in my split pea but tried it this time with Boar's Head franks. I didn't think they added anything special to the soup so next time will leave out and just serve with croutons on top and a side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was an awesome soup. After i softened the vegetables i threw them into a crockpot along with the split peas. I tossed the franks in about three hours before it was time to be served... Warms you up, through and through. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wizard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States