Yellow Split Pea and Frankfurter Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is a good soup. I am vegetarian, so I omitted the hot dogs and used veggie broth. I also added a potato to thicken a bit. After simmering for an hour, I had to add probably close to 2 additional cups of water to make it a soup. I pureed 2 ladles full of the soup in the blender and mixed it back into the soup for some creaminess in the texture. The soup is thick and hearty and nutritious, great for a cold day. Some fresh, warm bread and a green salad makes it an easy meal. Next time I may experiment with some spices, because although it was good, I felt maybe it needed a little kick or a subtle spice in the background. But all in all a god recipe. It makes a lot of soup and it's very economical, so it was great to make on a Sunday for lunch at work during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This was great! I added a cup of frozen corn once it was simmering. I also added some parsley flakes for color and flavor. I didn't have celery, so I used an extra carrot. Everyone really liked it. I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JesusIsTheWay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I, personally, never liked adding hot dogs to my split pea soup (yellow or green), but my cousin has 2 young granddaughters (grade school age) and a husband who can't get enough of her pea soup whenever she adds them. She boils the franks separately, grinds them up a bit in her mini-chopper, distributes them into separate soup bowls and pours the soup over them. The kids feel like they're "diving" for their hot dogs and their bowls are empty in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
My husband loved this soup...something about the hot dogs that magically makes split pea soup more appealing! This is the first time that all of my split pea soup leftovers got eaten. Guess that means I have to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Very quick and easy. We used vegatarin bratwurst cut up in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Really good soup - if you omit the hot dogs... Maybe will add some spicy sausage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquita632000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
i live in the colder climeates of the north an must say - This is a heart warmer ans so easy to prepare! Thanks!! Robin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
My family really liked this soup! Followed the recipes exactly. Very easy and quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Yummy. I just substituted the frankfurters with prosciutto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This soup is wonderful! I did need to add 2 more cups of chicken stock and I also blended 4 cups to make it creamy as well as chunky, I didn't have mace spice so I used a pinch of nutmeg and it worked out perfectly. I did not add the frankfurters-I agree for a full meal that a sausage of some sort would be great as well. I only gave 4 stars due to some changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States