Yellow Split Pea and Frankfurter Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Made it without the frankfuters. Nice and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is a good soup. I am vegetarian, so I omitted the hot dogs and used veggie broth. I also added a potato to thicken a bit. After simmering for an hour, I had to add probably close to 2 additional cups of water to make it a soup. I pureed 2 ladles full of the soup in the blender and mixed it back into the soup for some creaminess in the texture. The soup is thick and hearty and nutritious, great for a cold day. Some fresh, warm bread and a green salad makes it an easy meal. Next time I may experiment with some spices, because although it was good, I felt maybe it needed a little kick or a subtle spice in the background. But all in all a god recipe. It makes a lot of soup and it's very economical, so it was great to make on a Sunday for lunch at work during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Great recipe!!! family loved it! added a can of tomato soup and a couple extra cans of water to it to give it a color but was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snugj4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Yummy. I just substituted the frankfurters with prosciutto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I, personally, never liked adding hot dogs to my split pea soup (yellow or green), but my cousin has 2 young granddaughters (grade school age) and a husband who can't get enough of her pea soup whenever she adds them. She boils the franks separately, grinds them up a bit in her mini-chopper, distributes them into separate soup bowls and pours the soup over them. The kids feel like they're "diving" for their hot dogs and their bowls are empty in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Sort of how I make mine, except I use the tiny smoked sausages instead of hotdogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEANZILLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Antrim, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I loved this soup-so simple to make but with great pure, depth of flavor. I don't normally put hot dogs in my split pea but tried it this time with Boar's Head franks. I didn't think they added anything special to the soup so next time will leave out and just serve with croutons on top and a side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
i live in the colder climeates of the north an must say - This is a heart warmer ans so easy to prepare! Thanks!! Robin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Really good soup - if you omit the hot dogs... Maybe will add some spicy sausage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquita632000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This was great! I added a cup of frozen corn once it was simmering. I also added some parsley flakes for color and flavor. I didn't have celery, so I used an extra carrot. Everyone really liked it. I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JesusIsTheWay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States