Yellow Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This cake was good but I added 2 cups of ricotta cheese and a cup pf butter and it was moist and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Very easy to make with common ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ollie14

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheGoddessGiGi
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Not bad. I had issues with the texture, it was a little thick- but I might not have stirred it enough. Everyone loved it though, the flavor was good. It's also nice because it was quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheGoddessGiGi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
the cake was simple to make and came out ok but there was abosuletly not flavor or taste to it . the cake was way too sweet and plain. this recipe though is good for bakers who want something simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I like this cake! It is nice and yellow, just sweet enough, and very easy to make. I will frost it with lots of chocolate when it cools. I plan to make another one soon and try a different frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Pretty good. It's not yellow, though. The inside was white, so it was just a little confusing. But it had a good texture, light, fluffy, really tasty. Kinda dry, but not obvious. I tasted it without frosting, so I'm sure with frosting, it wouldn't have seemed so dry. It was better than some yellow cakes from scratch, just because it didn't taste like a corn muffin. Over all, not bad. Its a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I've had to edit this review. After trying the White Layer Cake recipe (also from Taste of Home), I have to say that the White Layer Cake recipe is FAR superior in every way - flavor, texture, moisture, you name it. I sort of second what someone else has already said - use the White Layer cake recipe, follow the recipe exactly except add 3 yolks. You'll get a nice golden color if you use organic eggs, the yolks of which are more yellow than regular grocery store eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
This recipe is okay, it is however, to dry, and I feel it's kind of bland. So I just thought I would point out that the recipe on here for the White Layer Cake works well by substituting egg yolks instead of the whites, as a yellow cake. That is the recipe I use now, it is very moist and flavorful. I did make some slight alterations that worked great for me. Go check it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetcakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I choose this recipe because of time constraints and what ingredients I had available in the house. It is very simple and came out great. It was also a hit amongst my guests. I am not sure what happened to make the other reviewers score this cake so low, but that is definately not my testimony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This recipe was quick and simple, but it was a bit dry. Perhaps I overcooked it or I could add a bit more milk next time. I made it with a caramel frosting and they went together well. I have made a better yellow cake though. I still believe cakes from scratch are better than any boxed cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States