Yellow Dhal - Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
YUM! I have a big bowl of this right now and am really enjoying it. A few changes I made: 1) I used 2 sweet potatoes and microwaved them to save time and dishes. 2) I sauteed a ton of garlic in with the veggies - about 4 cloves worth! 3) I added a ton more pepper 4) I used a big bunch of fresh cilantro, chopped it up, and threw it in with the veggies 5) I omitted the tamarind (didn't have it!) 6) I only used 2 jalapenos 7) At the end I threw everything in the blender all together, so my soup is really creamy. This is so delicious, nutritious, and simple. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Delicious! best served with rice. My sister made this for the family and it was a healthy meal that everyone liked. the BEST! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
We weren't too impressed with this the day I made it. We tasted the heat from the jalapenos, but not much flavor. It was much better the next day after it had time to sit. I had it for lunch and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I used a can of diced tomatoes with jalepeno peppers since I didn't have either ingredient and this worked out well. I also sauteed some garlic and ginger with the onions and added extra black and cayenne pepper. I blended all of the ingredients using an immersion blender (which is the best investment if you like to make soups and smoothies). Soup turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I thought this was very good, especially with some fresh cilantro. Next time, I will add more turmeric and another jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This one's definitely a keeper! I microwaved the sweet potato to save time and dishes and then just squeezed it out of its skin into the pot with the lentils before mashing. At the end I used vegetable broth instead of water (but only a little so that the dhal was very thick). I used LOTS of black pepper, and also some red pepper flakes. The cilantro leaves contribute a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This a spicy,filling soup.I blended the soup after cooking and used quite a lot of pepper.I live in England and several of my asian friends make an almost identical soup as an old Indian family recipe-very authentic. Great if you are on Weight Watchers as both lentils and sweet potatoes are 'free foods' if you are on the Core plan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coventry, Warwickshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
just so-so. i had to add a lot of other spices so it wasn't as bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
Though this takes several steps, the results are well worth it. We actually completed the recipe in less than an hour, and used a hand-blender instead of mashing the sweet potatoes & lentils. The flavors are perfect together-hearty, nutritious and spicy(but not too). One of the most delicious soups we have made from an allrecipes.com recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States