Yellow Dhal - Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
So it was my first time trying something like this and I ended up enjoying it. Basically it is a lentil stew that is really popular in India and Pakistan. This recipe mixes it with sweet potato, tomato, onion, jalapeno, cilantro, and seasonings. I adjusted a few slight details from the recipe. I used green lentils because the local grocery store does not carry the yellow and red varieties. I added a pinch of red pepper flakes to slightly increase warmness. The magical touch was adding ¾ tsp of curry and finishing it with a small amount of cream. Adding the cilantro at the end made it really nice. It is very nutritious as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This was great - used red lentils and subbed sweet red pepper in lieu of the jalapenos. SUPER filling, and cheap to make. I added cumin and chili powder, and a lot of salt. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I have tried this recipe several times already and keep coming back. I loved it! I tried adding pumpkin to potatoes before blending, cubed zuccini 5 min before the end of cooking, etc. All additions work beautifully. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Fairly bland. I had to add a few spices to give it some flavour. Also a little gritty because of the lentils - kind of an unpleasant texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I make this all the time. I use less water so it is like a mash not a soup, and I serve it with rice. I often make double batches and freese it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I doubled the recipe, added more turmeric, used fewer jalapeno peppers because I was afraid they'd add too much heat. Turned out really bland. I tossed in a bunch of garlic in oil from a jar and quite a lot of cinnamon--better but still bland. I felt I had to save this large amount of dhal so I dumped in maybe 1/4 cup of curry powder and it was edible but not really flavourful. We all ate it but won't make it again--looking for a more flavourful recipe or else maybe I'll use some adjustments from others' recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
The recipe was a little bland for my taste as it was. I added 1 tbsp of ginger paste along with a tsp of cayanne and a tsp of smoked paprika. At the end, I added the juice of one small lemon. Like another viewer mention, it's even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
The taste is great! I used yellow split peas for lack of yellow lentils, and that may be why I needed extra liquid in this! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda S
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I followed the directions but added some extras as I'm fond of Asian food and thought there would be a few ways to kick this one up a bit. added about 1 tsp pre chopped garlic and the 1/4 tsp chopped ginger, 2 pinches of masala, to the soup while the onions and jalapeños caramelized a bit. I'm not a huge fan of cilantro so I added one or two bits chopped. I noticed in the other picture the person didn't mash the sweet potatoes. This gives the soup a nice creamy texture and is very hearty. Overall I loved it and will repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Use a full bag of lentils. Cooked them a long time with Vegetable broth stock and 3 1/4 Tsp of Tumeric. Used three fresh chopped and seeded tomatoes and diced carrots. Followed the recommendations of 3 jalapenos (fresh) and 4 cloves of diced garlic. Microwaved two large sweet potatoes which I blended in by hand to the other ingredients. Also used 2 heaping tablespoons of Sambal Oelek (Huy-Fong foods), which brought a consistent low level of tasty spice. That has really become a favorite addition to most of the recipes I have tried lately. I kept putting water in the mixture to give it a more soupy consistency, but after 6 cups of water and 2 cups of veggie stock, it remained very thick like mashed potatoes. Still very good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States