Yellow Dhal - Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
So it was my first time trying something like this and I ended up enjoying it. Basically it is a lentil stew that is really popular in India and Pakistan. This recipe mixes it with sweet potato, tomato, onion, jalapeno, cilantro, and seasonings. I adjusted a few slight details from the recipe. I used green lentils because the local grocery store does not carry the yellow and red varieties. I added a pinch of red pepper flakes to slightly increase warmness. The magical touch was adding ¾ tsp of curry and finishing it with a small amount of cream. Adding the cilantro at the end made it really nice. It is very nutritious as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This was great - used red lentils and subbed sweet red pepper in lieu of the jalapenos. SUPER filling, and cheap to make. I added cumin and chili powder, and a lot of salt. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I have tried this recipe several times already and keep coming back. I loved it! I tried adding pumpkin to potatoes before blending, cubed zuccini 5 min before the end of cooking, etc. All additions work beautifully. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Fairly bland. I had to add a few spices to give it some flavour. Also a little gritty because of the lentils - kind of an unpleasant texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I make this all the time. I use less water so it is like a mash not a soup, and I serve it with rice. I often make double batches and freese it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I doubled the recipe, added more turmeric, used fewer jalapeno peppers because I was afraid they'd add too much heat. Turned out really bland. I tossed in a bunch of garlic in oil from a jar and quite a lot of cinnamon--better but still bland. I felt I had to save this large amount of dhal so I dumped in maybe 1/4 cup of curry powder and it was edible but not really flavourful. We all ate it but won't make it again--looking for a more flavourful recipe or else maybe I'll use some adjustments from others' recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
The recipe was a little bland for my taste as it was. I added 1 tbsp of ginger paste along with a tsp of cayanne and a tsp of smoked paprika. At the end, I added the juice of one small lemon. Like another viewer mention, it's even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
The taste is great! I used yellow split peas for lack of yellow lentils, and that may be why I needed extra liquid in this! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda S
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I followed the directions but added some extras as I'm fond of Asian food and thought there would be a few ways to kick this one up a bit. added about 1 tsp pre chopped garlic and the 1/4 tsp chopped ginger, 2 pinches of masala, to the soup while the onions and jalapeños caramelized a bit. I'm not a huge fan of cilantro so I added one or two bits chopped. I noticed in the other picture the person didn't mash the sweet potatoes. This gives the soup a nice creamy texture and is very hearty. Overall I loved it and will repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Use a full bag of lentils. Cooked them a long time with Vegetable broth stock and 3 1/4 Tsp of Tumeric. Used three fresh chopped and seeded tomatoes and diced carrots. Followed the recommendations of 3 jalapenos (fresh) and 4 cloves of diced garlic. Microwaved two large sweet potatoes which I blended in by hand to the other ingredients. Also used 2 heaping tablespoons of Sambal Oelek (Huy-Fong foods), which brought a consistent low level of tasty spice. That has really become a favorite addition to most of the recipes I have tried lately. I kept putting water in the mixture to give it a more soupy consistency, but after 6 cups of water and 2 cups of veggie stock, it remained very thick like mashed potatoes. Still very good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States