Yellow Clooney Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I'm a sucker for yellow cake. No frills, no fancy technique, just simple lovely cake. Very moist, very very delicious. Will be my go to yellow cake recipe (sorry grandma...) Also love that buttermilk was used. It makes this cake all the more rich and delightful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I thought I was making this recipe and had mistakenly taken another off of the site. BAD mistake. It came out like a dense rock... like the one Patrick lives under in Spongebob. Anyway, this one rocked and thanks for educating me about the essentialness of using cake flour vs all purpose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Very moist and a nice flavour. Hubby and our 3 guests all thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This is a delicious recipe but very tempermental in the oven. My granddaughter kept running in the kitchen and the cake fell. It didn't turn out so well but we ate it anyway because the flavor was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Mcphetridge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This was good,but I thought a bit dry. Not the yellow cake I was looking for. I did not edit the recipe at all. I really expected a moist yellow cake.So, this for me is not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I liked this cake. Searching for the perfect yellow cake. This isn't "it," but it is good. Nice buttery flavor, very moist, medium texture, quite dense (almost like a quick bread dense) - ahhh, butter. :) More buttery tasting than "Mary Oppenheimer's Butter Cake." 'Made just one layer. I increased the sugar to a cup & a half. It wasn't too much. 'Don't spank me, but I didn't use cake flour. Used a cup & two-thirds regular flour. Maybe another egg would help with the denseness issue - to make it more cakelike. Maybe. :) PS What's a "clooney"?!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Overall this produced a good cake, but I have a few points for others. 1. This makes more batter than 2-9inch cake pans worth. More like 3-9inch cake pans. FYI. 2. This cake is a slow cooker - I made it in a 9x13 and it took over an hour to test done (it had browned a bit on top but that's normal in butter cakes, if that's going to bother you, find a shortening or oil cake recipe). This is because of the amount of batter -- reduce if you don't need 3 cakes or a 3-4 inch thick sheet cake. 3. I stored my cake in the fridge due to how I frosted it, so I can't speak to the moistness (the fridge sucks the moisture out of cakes and breads, so never bash a baked good that you stuck in the fridge without pre-tasting) but I can say that it came out with a much denser crumb than cakes made with all-purpose flour, however it was tender to the mouth and fork. This cake would hold up well for cutting into layers, etc., much like pound cake (but tasting different). Overall I was pleased with this recipe but as one of the early reviewers I wanted to go ahead and point out a few things about this cake before people make it expecting Betty Crocker boxed mix and then downrate it. Thank you Alicia, we enjoyed your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Made this exactly as written however would recommend 3 round pans instead of 2. I really liked how tall the layers were however it was hard to slice and fell apart easily. Will likely try it again using less batter per pan and reducing the baking time so the edges don't over bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porter, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I just made this & it was dry. I don't know what I could have done wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I am the poster of this recipe. I shouldve noted that my pans are 2 inches deeper than regular pans you guys are probabaly using. So I can see how it may be a bit much for the regular pans that you all are using. Sorry guys ;-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicia101584

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Mineola, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States