Yellow Clooney Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by BewitchedGal
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I made this yesterday for my sons birthday and it tuned out GREAT! I was going back and forth between this recipe and one other on this site I ended up choosing this one because I thought the buttermilk would be good in it and the other recipe did not use buttermilk. After reading the reviews I knew I would have enough for a 3 layer cake and I did. I followed the directions to a T and it was the best yellow cake recipe I have ever made. My husband took some to a friends house they loved it! The wife said it was the best home made cake she had ever tasted. I made a salted caramel frosting and it was fantastic. This will definitely be made again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I hate this recipe! The parchment paper burned and my house smelled like smoke for an hour! The batter was too sticky, and it took a long time to remove the batter from my bowl. I'm sorry to say, but even though I followed the recipe step by step, the cake turned out to be a disaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
OK. Confession. When I was younger and I'd make a cake, I'd always filch batter. By the spoonful. Couldn't help myself! As a result, my cakes were never very tall. Fast forward a few decades. I'm diabetic. No more tastes when baking for me! Even so, nothing prepared me for how much batter this recipe made. I got three very full 9" layers and 8 cupcakes. Couldn't believe how I just kept filling cupcake papers. How could anyone possibly fit this into "2- 9" pans"??? Anyway, I tasted one of the cupcakes, and was absolutely blown away by the texture - so moist with a fine, light crumb. It's everything you love about a mix cake, minus that obnoxious, artificial flavor. Those who say it was dense, there are a couple of possible causes. You could have beaten too much after the flour was added, encouraging formation of gluten, the protein in flour that gives structure in breads. Simply incorporate the flour gently and stop, which will obviate that problem. Or perhaps you opted for all purpose flour instead. Big mistake. If you don't have cake flour, measure out 3-1/2 cups all purpose and add 1/2 cup cornstarch. Sift 3 times. If you used cake flour, did you sift? Sifting aerates your flour. If your product was dry, that indicates either overbaking or a temp that was too high. Calibrate your oven using an oven thermometer every 2-3 months. If everything is done as directed, this is the best of the best. And as a former pastry chef, I'm pretty finicky! Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Great moist cake although it is very sweet (luckily I do have a sweet tooth!!!). Followed the recipe exactly, one batch make 12 cupcakes and a 10" Bundt cake. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This cake recipe is fabulous. I've tried other yellow cake recipes that turned out heavy, dry and crumbly. It is a moist, light texture and large cake. The first time I made it I used my regular nine inch round cake pans. Big mistake. It overflowed the pans. The next time I used my commercial nine inch cake pans and it turned out fabulous. I have never had a cake this size turn out so nice and moist. Wow. I can't say enough about it. I have finally found a yellow cake recipe that I am proud to have in my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Platte, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Awesome cake! Super moist! I used it to build a tiramisu cake (I flavoured it with almond and coffee) so I didn't get to taste it 'au natural' but the texture was fantastic, I've finally found my yellow cake recipe! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
A bit dry. If I make again try to add more moisture. Very mild flavor that will be enhanced by a good frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
A friend of mine asked me to make a half sheet cake for her daughter's birthday, and being the fearless baker that I am, I decided to try a new recipe. I used this one and got rave reviews. I doubled the recipe and had enough for some cupcakes because it does make a lot of batter. It was yummy! I am used to making things from scratch and much prefer the taste of home made cakes to store bought, and apparently so did everyone at the party! I'm actually baking a 13x9 right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Very dry. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States