Yellow Clooney Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Great moist cake although it is very sweet (luckily I do have a sweet tooth!!!). Followed the recipe exactly, one batch make 12 cupcakes and a 10" Bundt cake. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This cake recipe is fabulous. I've tried other yellow cake recipes that turned out heavy, dry and crumbly. It is a moist, light texture and large cake. The first time I made it I used my regular nine inch round cake pans. Big mistake. It overflowed the pans. The next time I used my commercial nine inch cake pans and it turned out fabulous. I have never had a cake this size turn out so nice and moist. Wow. I can't say enough about it. I have finally found a yellow cake recipe that I am proud to have in my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Platte, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Awesome cake! Super moist! I used it to build a tiramisu cake (I flavoured it with almond and coffee) so I didn't get to taste it 'au natural' but the texture was fantastic, I've finally found my yellow cake recipe! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
A bit dry. If I make again try to add more moisture. Very mild flavor that will be enhanced by a good frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
A friend of mine asked me to make a half sheet cake for her daughter's birthday, and being the fearless baker that I am, I decided to try a new recipe. I used this one and got rave reviews. I doubled the recipe and had enough for some cupcakes because it does make a lot of batter. It was yummy! I am used to making things from scratch and much prefer the taste of home made cakes to store bought, and apparently so did everyone at the party! I'm actually baking a 13x9 right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Very dry. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is the best yellow cake I've ever made. Really light, airy, perfect flavor. Almost like a mix cake but better. I cut the recipe in half and baked in a 13x9, came out perfect, 1-1/2 inches thick in the middle. baked for 33 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chitina, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I'm not generally a fan of yellow cakes but a friend of my has requested that type for her son's birthday and this recipe has made me a believer! I made cupcakes to test it first and slightly overcooked them - all my fault - but even then, they're not dried out and still have wonderful flavor. Can't wait to try it out again for the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Wow fantastic! It made 3 dozen cupcakes, moist and delicious without being too sweet. The buttermilk gives a great flavor. My family started eating the warm cupcakes off the cooling rack...didnt' even wait for the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
very good - used regular all-purpose flour (didn't have any cake flour) and added 2 smashed bananas. I made cupcakes. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States