Yellow Clooney Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
OK. Confession. When I was younger and I'd make a cake, I'd always filch batter. By the spoonful. Couldn't help myself! As a result, my cakes were never very tall. Fast forward a few decades. I'm diabetic. No more tastes when baking for me! Even so, nothing prepared me for how much batter this recipe made. I got three very full 9" layers and 8 cupcakes. Couldn't believe how I just kept filling cupcake papers. How could anyone possibly fit this into "2- 9" pans"??? Anyway, I tasted one of the cupcakes, and was absolutely blown away by the texture - so moist with a fine, light crumb. It's everything you love about a mix cake, minus that obnoxious, artificial flavor. Those who say it was dense, there are a couple of possible causes. You could have beaten too much after the flour was added, encouraging formation of gluten, the protein in flour that gives structure in breads. Simply incorporate the flour gently and stop, which will obviate that problem. Or perhaps you opted for all purpose flour instead. Big mistake. If you don't have cake flour, measure out 3-1/2 cups all purpose and add 1/2 cup cornstarch. Sift 3 times. If you used cake flour, did you sift? Sifting aerates your flour. If your product was dry, that indicates either overbaking or a temp that was too high. Calibrate your oven using an oven thermometer every 2-3 months. If everything is done as directed, this is the best of the best. And as a former pastry chef, I'm pretty finicky! Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I'm a sucker for yellow cake. No frills, no fancy technique, just simple lovely cake. Very moist, very very delicious. Will be my go to yellow cake recipe (sorry grandma...) Also love that buttermilk was used. It makes this cake all the more rich and delightful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Overall this produced a good cake, but I have a few points for others. 1. This makes more batter than 2-9inch cake pans worth. More like 3-9inch cake pans. FYI. 2. This cake is a slow cooker - I made it in a 9x13 and it took over an hour to test done (it had browned a bit on top but that's normal in butter cakes, if that's going to bother you, find a shortening or oil cake recipe). This is because of the amount of batter -- reduce if you don't need 3 cakes or a 3-4 inch thick sheet cake. 3. I stored my cake in the fridge due to how I frosted it, so I can't speak to the moistness (the fridge sucks the moisture out of cakes and breads, so never bash a baked good that you stuck in the fridge without pre-tasting) but I can say that it came out with a much denser crumb than cakes made with all-purpose flour, however it was tender to the mouth and fork. This cake would hold up well for cutting into layers, etc., much like pound cake (but tasting different). Overall I was pleased with this recipe but as one of the early reviewers I wanted to go ahead and point out a few things about this cake before people make it expecting Betty Crocker boxed mix and then downrate it. Thank you Alicia, we enjoyed your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I am the poster of this recipe. I shouldve noted that my pans are 2 inches deeper than regular pans you guys are probabaly using. So I can see how it may be a bit much for the regular pans that you all are using. Sorry guys ;-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicia101584

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Mineola, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I thought I was making this recipe and had mistakenly taken another off of the site. BAD mistake. It came out like a dense rock... like the one Patrick lives under in Spongebob. Anyway, this one rocked and thanks for educating me about the essentialness of using cake flour vs all purpose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is the best yellow cake I've ever made. Really light, airy, perfect flavor. Almost like a mix cake but better. I cut the recipe in half and baked in a 13x9, came out perfect, 1-1/2 inches thick in the middle. baked for 33 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chitina, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
We made cupcakes out of this recipe. They were light, moist, and fluffy. The perfect texture! The only change I made was to add extra vanilla. We'll be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I liked this cake. Searching for the perfect yellow cake. This isn't "it," but it is good. Nice buttery flavor, very moist, medium texture, quite dense (almost like a quick bread dense) - ahhh, butter. :) More buttery tasting than "Mary Oppenheimer's Butter Cake." 'Made just one layer. I increased the sugar to a cup & a half. It wasn't too much. 'Don't spank me, but I didn't use cake flour. Used a cup & two-thirds regular flour. Maybe another egg would help with the denseness issue - to make it more cakelike. Maybe. :) PS What's a "clooney"?!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Made this exactly as written however would recommend 3 round pans instead of 2. I really liked how tall the layers were however it was hard to slice and fell apart easily. Will likely try it again using less batter per pan and reducing the baking time so the edges don't over bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porter, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
very good - used regular all-purpose flour (didn't have any cake flour) and added 2 smashed bananas. I made cupcakes. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States