Yellow Clooney Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is the best yellow cake I've ever made. Really light, airy, perfect flavor. Almost like a mix cake but better. I cut the recipe in half and baked in a 13x9, came out perfect, 1-1/2 inches thick in the middle. baked for 33 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chitina, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I'm not generally a fan of yellow cakes but a friend of my has requested that type for her son's birthday and this recipe has made me a believer! I made cupcakes to test it first and slightly overcooked them - all my fault - but even then, they're not dried out and still have wonderful flavor. Can't wait to try it out again for the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Wow fantastic! It made 3 dozen cupcakes, moist and delicious without being too sweet. The buttermilk gives a great flavor. My family started eating the warm cupcakes off the cooling rack...didnt' even wait for the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
very good - used regular all-purpose flour (didn't have any cake flour) and added 2 smashed bananas. I made cupcakes. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Used this for my daughter's 2nd birthday cake and it was a huge hit. It was so moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
We made cupcakes out of this recipe. They were light, moist, and fluffy. The perfect texture! The only change I made was to add extra vanilla. We'll be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I am the poster of this recipe. I shouldve noted that my pans are 2 inches deeper than regular pans you guys are probabaly using. So I can see how it may be a bit much for the regular pans that you all are using. Sorry guys ;-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicia101584

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Mineola, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I just made this & it was dry. I don't know what I could have done wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Made this exactly as written however would recommend 3 round pans instead of 2. I really liked how tall the layers were however it was hard to slice and fell apart easily. Will likely try it again using less batter per pan and reducing the baking time so the edges don't over bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porter, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Overall this produced a good cake, but I have a few points for others. 1. This makes more batter than 2-9inch cake pans worth. More like 3-9inch cake pans. FYI. 2. This cake is a slow cooker - I made it in a 9x13 and it took over an hour to test done (it had browned a bit on top but that's normal in butter cakes, if that's going to bother you, find a shortening or oil cake recipe). This is because of the amount of batter -- reduce if you don't need 3 cakes or a 3-4 inch thick sheet cake. 3. I stored my cake in the fridge due to how I frosted it, so I can't speak to the moistness (the fridge sucks the moisture out of cakes and breads, so never bash a baked good that you stuck in the fridge without pre-tasting) but I can say that it came out with a much denser crumb than cakes made with all-purpose flour, however it was tender to the mouth and fork. This cake would hold up well for cutting into layers, etc., much like pound cake (but tasting different). Overall I was pleased with this recipe but as one of the early reviewers I wanted to go ahead and point out a few things about this cake before people make it expecting Betty Crocker boxed mix and then downrate it. Thank you Alicia, we enjoyed your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States