Yellow Clooney Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Great moist cake although it is very sweet (luckily I do have a sweet tooth!!!). Followed the recipe exactly, one batch make 12 cupcakes and a 10" Bundt cake. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This cake recipe is fabulous. I've tried other yellow cake recipes that turned out heavy, dry and crumbly. It is a moist, light texture and large cake. The first time I made it I used my regular nine inch round cake pans. Big mistake. It overflowed the pans. The next time I used my commercial nine inch cake pans and it turned out fabulous. I have never had a cake this size turn out so nice and moist. Wow. I can't say enough about it. I have finally found a yellow cake recipe that I am proud to have in my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Platte, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Awesome cake! Super moist! I used it to build a tiramisu cake (I flavoured it with almond and coffee) so I didn't get to taste it 'au natural' but the texture was fantastic, I've finally found my yellow cake recipe! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
A bit dry. If I make again try to add more moisture. Very mild flavor that will be enhanced by a good frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
A friend of mine asked me to make a half sheet cake for her daughter's birthday, and being the fearless baker that I am, I decided to try a new recipe. I used this one and got rave reviews. I doubled the recipe and had enough for some cupcakes because it does make a lot of batter. It was yummy! I am used to making things from scratch and much prefer the taste of home made cakes to store bought, and apparently so did everyone at the party! I'm actually baking a 13x9 right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Very dry. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is the best yellow cake I've ever made. Really light, airy, perfect flavor. Almost like a mix cake but better. I cut the recipe in half and baked in a 13x9, came out perfect, 1-1/2 inches thick in the middle. baked for 33 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chitina, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I'm not generally a fan of yellow cakes but a friend of my has requested that type for her son's birthday and this recipe has made me a believer! I made cupcakes to test it first and slightly overcooked them - all my fault - but even then, they're not dried out and still have wonderful flavor. Can't wait to try it out again for the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Wow fantastic! It made 3 dozen cupcakes, moist and delicious without being too sweet. The buttermilk gives a great flavor. My family started eating the warm cupcakes off the cooling rack...didnt' even wait for the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
very good - used regular all-purpose flour (didn't have any cake flour) and added 2 smashed bananas. I made cupcakes. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States