Yellow Clooney Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Awesome cake! Super moist! I used it to build a tiramisu cake (I flavoured it with almond and coffee) so I didn't get to taste it 'au natural' but the texture was fantastic, I've finally found my yellow cake recipe! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
A bit dry. If I make again try to add more moisture. Very mild flavor that will be enhanced by a good frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
A friend of mine asked me to make a half sheet cake for her daughter's birthday, and being the fearless baker that I am, I decided to try a new recipe. I used this one and got rave reviews. I doubled the recipe and had enough for some cupcakes because it does make a lot of batter. It was yummy! I am used to making things from scratch and much prefer the taste of home made cakes to store bought, and apparently so did everyone at the party! I'm actually baking a 13x9 right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Very dry. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is the best yellow cake I've ever made. Really light, airy, perfect flavor. Almost like a mix cake but better. I cut the recipe in half and baked in a 13x9, came out perfect, 1-1/2 inches thick in the middle. baked for 33 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chitina, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I'm not generally a fan of yellow cakes but a friend of my has requested that type for her son's birthday and this recipe has made me a believer! I made cupcakes to test it first and slightly overcooked them - all my fault - but even then, they're not dried out and still have wonderful flavor. Can't wait to try it out again for the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Wow fantastic! It made 3 dozen cupcakes, moist and delicious without being too sweet. The buttermilk gives a great flavor. My family started eating the warm cupcakes off the cooling rack...didnt' even wait for the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
very good - used regular all-purpose flour (didn't have any cake flour) and added 2 smashed bananas. I made cupcakes. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Used this for my daughter's 2nd birthday cake and it was a huge hit. It was so moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
We made cupcakes out of this recipe. They were light, moist, and fluffy. The perfect texture! The only change I made was to add extra vanilla. We'll be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States