Yellow Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I agree that one stick of butter is plenty. My supervisor told me to never bring this to work again because she cannot stay out of it. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grangeville, Idaho, USA
Living In: Orofino, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Use this recipe with caution. I used a metal 9x13 pan, and the cake stuck to the bottom. Could not get the cake out of the pan. I did cut the butter to 1 stick. Not sure why this did not turn out?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Very good, family liked it a lot. It helped, I think, to let the crust cool a little before spreading the cream cheese mixture. I agree the cheese spread didn't really rise to the top as much as bubble up at the edges. Crust was perfect, it helped to have graham cracker crumbs which already have shortening mixed in with them. Overall, a good recipe and already my husband requested it for Fourth of July.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This cake was simple to make and tasted so good! My husband loved it, as did everyone we shared it with. It's not the prettiest thing, but the taste is amazing so well worth it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Gooey Goodness!!! I was nervous while it was baking, I used a dark non-stick pan instead of the glass one the recipe called for. I noticed after 10 minutes of baking the edges were starting to get really brown so I covered the whole dish with foil and baked for 30 more minutes. It was gooey and wonderful, everyone loved it. I'll definately be making this again. If you're expecting a solid bar this isn't the recipe that you want. Also, it's super rich so serving it with vanilla ice cream helps cut the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This cake turned out like everyone else has stated: The cherries didn't rise to the top (which isn't a huge deal, but it's what you expect when the recipe says that's what will happen), the center didn't cook, and I couldn't spread the cream cheese mixture over the gooey crust. When it was done baking, the outside edges were nearly burned, and the middle was still gooey. I probably won't make this recipe again. I wish I had read the reviews before making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I have found so many good recipes at 'allrecipes', so I had high hopes for this one. It was hands down, one of the worst I have ever made. Even after reading the reviews and making the suggested changes, it was a disappointment . It stuck to the pan, took twice as long to bake, the cherries didn't sink. I will not make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
There is no way that this cake can turn out as the recipe is written. I am an experienced baker and tried this cake as I was looking for a recipe with ingredients I had on hand. I should have read the reviews first. I agree with another viewer that this probably should have been 1 stick instead of one cup. And there is absolutely no way you can pour the cream cheese mixture. After baking the crust for the 10 minutes it was jusr gooey, then after blobing the stif cream cheese mix on top it just all mixed together. Not wanting to waste my ingredients, I just mixed it all up anyway and put the cherries on top. It is back in the oven for 35 minutes...and well, we will just see how it turns out. Bad I am thinking at this point. I just don't see how it can work. I thought these recipes were tried before they listed them! Folks, don't try this one at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhonda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
My Co-workers BEG me to make this delicous treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Overall its a great recipe. Few tricks of the trade need to be used though. 1. I used homestyle butter cake mix with a stick of butter- mix until CRUMBLY and pat it into the pan and bake for 10 min. 2. Unlike stated in the recipe, the cream cheese mixture will not pour on top of the cake mix because it is too sticky- so I just dollop it all over the top of the hot cake layer and let it set for a minute and lightly spread it all over the cake- the heat makes the cream cheese easier to work with. 3.Bake for 35 min, or when you see the cream cheese layer rise around the EDGE of the pan and brown. It will not rise to the top as stated in the recipe. 4. I used canned lemon filling with this instead of cherries- it makes great lemon bars! I haven't had any problems with sticking- I use the Bakers Secret 13 X 9" Cake pan if that helps. Try it again with my hints and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States