Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This recipe was Great. I used it for my brother-in-law's birthday, who is lactose intolerant and he loved it, as did the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
I use this recipe for cupcakes. It is so sweet and moist, no need for frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRYNSMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
I found this really good and yummy, though I had to cook it a little longer than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Although I read all the reviews I decided NOT to add the flour that it seemed liked it needed and just decided to go with the recipe as it was written. It was great!! This was a very moist, sticky yellow cake with some orange zest. It was great as is. It looks a little funny baking... the middle gets done quicker but it is great as is.. wait it out! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clare, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I will never use box cake mix again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I thought this cake was great! I wanted a non-dairy cake, so I was pleased to find the recipe. But then I didn't have any orange juice. I substituted canned pineapple, used a little less sugar and it was delicious! I don't know how it didn't come out for other people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
I used this cake with pineapple upside down cake V instead of the box cake it calls for. I used 1.5 cups of sugar and 3/4 cup pineapple juice. I baked it in two 9in pans for about 30 minutes. It is VERY moist, sweet- very tasty. I made it for my husband's birthday and he liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Fantastic, this is absolutely delicious. I only had 3 eggs so the cake is a kinda crumbly around the edges. I also ran out of oil so the measuring cup was just one level (I'm guessing 1/8c less) below 1c. Also I used 1c o.j. (to make up for the other deficiencies) I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
As usual, I was looking for a cake I could make with the ingrediants I had on hand. I only had two eggs, but gave it a shot anyway. It turned out awesome, and I don't know why some people are having such bad luck. It does have a citrus-y flavor, but anything will if you put OJ in it! Cooked for 30 mins. in a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Added lemon juice instead, and marbled it with a chocolate cake mix. Came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States