Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
I use this recipe for cupcakes. It is so sweet and moist, no need for frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRYNSMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
I found this really good and yummy, though I had to cook it a little longer than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Although I read all the reviews I decided NOT to add the flour that it seemed liked it needed and just decided to go with the recipe as it was written. It was great!! This was a very moist, sticky yellow cake with some orange zest. It was great as is. It looks a little funny baking... the middle gets done quicker but it is great as is.. wait it out! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clare, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I will never use box cake mix again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This recipe was Great. I used it for my brother-in-law's birthday, who is lactose intolerant and he loved it, as did the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
As usual, I was looking for a cake I could make with the ingrediants I had on hand. I only had two eggs, but gave it a shot anyway. It turned out awesome, and I don't know why some people are having such bad luck. It does have a citrus-y flavor, but anything will if you put OJ in it! Cooked for 30 mins. in a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
I used this cake with pineapple upside down cake V instead of the box cake it calls for. I used 1.5 cups of sugar and 3/4 cup pineapple juice. I baked it in two 9in pans for about 30 minutes. It is VERY moist, sweet- very tasty. I made it for my husband's birthday and he liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Fantastic, this is absolutely delicious. I only had 3 eggs so the cake is a kinda crumbly around the edges. I also ran out of oil so the measuring cup was just one level (I'm guessing 1/8c less) below 1c. Also I used 1c o.j. (to make up for the other deficiencies) I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Added lemon juice instead, and marbled it with a chocolate cake mix. Came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I thought this cake was great! I wanted a non-dairy cake, so I was pleased to find the recipe. But then I didn't have any orange juice. I substituted canned pineapple, used a little less sugar and it was delicious! I don't know how it didn't come out for other people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States