Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Let me start by saying that by trade, I am a baker and cake decorator so I did not goof up this recipe. I am searching for a homemade recipe for my cakes because I tired of all of the unpronounceable chemicals that are in commercial products these days. First off, it did not dome while baking, and as I was removing it from the oven, there was a strong odor of egg coming from it. I let it cool for 20 minutes then taste tested it, egg and orange juice was the dominate flavors. I waited another 40 minutes and tasted it again in a cooled state and the flavor was the same eggy/oj flavors as before. I did not find it to overly sweet, but that maybe because I was overwhelmed by the other two negatively dominate flavors. Usually, I try to salvage test foods, but this one ended up in the compost - there was no saving it. To it's credit, this recipe produces a moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I don't generally do this, but I decided to look at some of the reviews for this recipe, specifically, those rating it poorly. By and large I disagree with them, and can only report my own result - and here it is - MMMM-MM. Yes, it IS a heavy, dense cake - not all cakes are SUPPOSED to be light and fluffy! This cake would be ideal where a sturdy cake is needed for carving. It is rich and moist. It's deliciously, delightfully and delicately orange flavored. I was somewhat suspicious of the disproportionately high sugar to flour ratio, but I went with the recipe as written and wasn't disappointed. It might be a tad heavy on the oil, and I don't see that it would hurt anything to reduce it by 1/4 cup or so if that's more appealing to you, but I enjoyed this cake so much I'm not going to quibble about a couple of tablespoons! I frosted it with a vanilla buttercream and loved it. An orange flavored buttercream (including zest) would be nice with this too. On top of being toe-curling good, it couldn't have been easier to mix up and just HAS to be fool-proof because of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Although I read all the reviews I decided NOT to add the flour that it seemed liked it needed and just decided to go with the recipe as it was written. It was great!! This was a very moist, sticky yellow cake with some orange zest. It was great as is. It looks a little funny baking... the middle gets done quicker but it is great as is.. wait it out! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clare, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This recipe didn't taste good at all. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I have made this cake about a dozen times, and it turns out great every time. It's super easy, I always have the ingredients on hand, and it's best WITHOUT FROSTING! Not to be used as a decorated cake! It has crispy edges and a wonderful flavor that reminds me of Nilla Wafer cookies. Honestly, just try it as the recipe is written and no frosting. Don't try to turn it out, leave it in a 9x13 pan. It's much to moist to turn out, or decorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
As usual, I was looking for a cake I could make with the ingrediants I had on hand. I only had two eggs, but gave it a shot anyway. It turned out awesome, and I don't know why some people are having such bad luck. It does have a citrus-y flavor, but anything will if you put OJ in it! Cooked for 30 mins. in a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
I found this really good and yummy, though I had to cook it a little longer than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
I use this recipe for cupcakes. It is so sweet and moist, no need for frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRYNSMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This cake turned out way too sweet, the crust was hard and crunchy and it didn't dome at all. No one in my family liked this one. Even my son who will eat anything. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I will never use box cake mix again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States