Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
My husband and 2 sons didn't care for it, believe it was because of the orange juice. I didn't think it was bad, but I like cake mix better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Knewasser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
I use this recipe for cupcakes. It is so sweet and moist, no need for frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRYNSMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
I found this really good and yummy, though I had to cook it a little longer than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
Super easy & fairly quick to make. Baking time was only 33 minutes, so that wasn't bad :) Very tasty, though a slight orange taste. I can't wait to frost it w/chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 37cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This is an easy recipe for bake-from-scratch cake. The flavor was good and it was moist. I thought it called for too much sugar though so I cut it down by 1/4 cup and it still tasted pretty sweet. Will try it with just 1-1/2 cups next time. Overall it's a good and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
This cake was good, but it seems to have too much oil in the recipe. I would make it again; next time I'll change the oil to 2/3 cup and also reduce the amount of orange juice a little (maybe only 1/3 cup). Also, it only took 35 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This recipe didn't taste good at all. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
I used this cake with pineapple upside down cake V instead of the box cake it calls for. I used 1.5 cups of sugar and 3/4 cup pineapple juice. I baked it in two 9in pans for about 30 minutes. It is VERY moist, sweet- very tasty. I made it for my husband's birthday and he liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
my cake stuck to the pan so i would reccomend that you butter and flour the pan before you pour in the cake batter. it was a little oily for my taste but it was incredibly moist although it was not the yellow color that i was looking for it turned out very dark but i think that was because of the orange juice. it tasted great but i thought the orange was to subtle, next time i'll use a regular yellow cake recipe with orange extract. not very impressed since the cakes fell in the middle too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This cake didn't taste good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States