Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
this was a pretty good recipe, but to make it more moist you might wanna add some powder vanilla pudding mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Topsham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
very good for a quick cake with minimul ingredients. I did only use 3 eggs and i subsituted lemon juice for orange juice and lemon extract for vanilla. I liked that it didn't really need a frosting since the cake was very sweet I may reduce the sugar a little next time I make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Fabulous! Made exactly as stated. VERY good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This recipe was amazing. As it was backing it domed into a golden brown. I got many comments at my party. I paired it with a sweet cream cheese icing. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoyaSauceMain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I really liked this recipe, very moist. I substituted white cake flour, as I only had whole wheat all purpose flour on hand, and used 1/2 cup lemonade instead of 3/4 cup orange juice (as I was out of oj). I baked in two 9 in round cake dishes, reducing the cook time to 35 minutes. As other reviewers suggested, I skipped the frosting. I served with fresh strawberries and whip cream. I will definitely make this again. Will try the oj, or maybe pineapple juice and I think I'll give whole wheat pastry flour a try. I'm not sure why other reviewers had problems with the recipe. I am not a baker and found it simple to follow. I did mix thoroughly w/ an electric mixer for a very smooth texture (about 3 min). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I felt like I had to review this recipe since it got several bad reviews. It is not a cake your going to make for a fancy party, but it is quite good. I have just moved and don't have a mixer yet and it only requires simple ingredients. My children and a neighbor have like it so far. It reminds me of a simple cake from my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I used this recipe twice for cupcakes and mini-cupcakes, both times with wonderful results. Very easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Excellent recipe. Made exactly by the recipe except added 3/8 tsp of salt to accent the other flavors. Adding 1/8 to 1/4 tsp of salt per cup of flour is a good rule of thumb on sweets. You don't taste the salt but it intensifies the other flavors and keeps the recipe from tasting flat. I used 4 standard large eggs and it did not taste eggy at all. Mixing was done by beating with a wisk. The pan (9 x 13 glass baking pan) was prepped by using cooking spray and dusting with flour. It was served directly from the pan and didn't stick. Is probably too moist to try to remove from the pan for presentation. Very moist and flavorful and does not need an icing. I used an oven thermometer, preheated the oven to 350 as directed, and cooked exactly 45 minutes. The cooking time will vary depending on the altitude (we're about 200 ft above sea level). The whole family loved the recipe and it will definitely be a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springhill, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I made this and followed other user's suggestions by adding 1 add'l cup of flour and reducing the egg by 1. It was WAAAAAY to floury. If I were to make this again I'd try adding an additional 1/2 cup of flour instead. I love that this had no butter, but other than that the flavor was lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I did not care for this! Crusty, dark brown and flat... Not recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States