Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Baked this once before and used milk and it turned out bad. I decided to give this another try with the exact ingredients except a bit altered and one word, AMAZING. LOVE the hint of orange in it. soo good! and it is SO moist it's unbelivable. I changed a couple of things though. 1 cup of sugar instead of 2 because it will be way too sweet and 2 eggs instead of 4. you have to try it and ignore all the bad reviews. They obviously didnt make it right the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I have to say that at the beginning, and after reading all the bad reviews, I thought it would be a dissaster. I was surprised with the results. I absolutely liked its apearance and taste. And best of all, it was easy to make with ingredients I had on hand. I would recommend you give it a try, you will probably be as surprised as I was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silmary_cd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Great cake and very easy to make! I made it just like the recipe. Put it in a 9 x 13 pan. Cut into squares and topped with fresh strawberries, blueberries and whip topping! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This cake was fabulous! Instead of using vinilla extract, I used 1 1/2 of almond. (serving size 12). This has a great orange flavor and is a dense cake that I absolutley love! I served it for desert for my mom's birthday with whipped cream on top and a slice of orange,. The orange juice I used was from my orange tree that I squeezed to make the cake, and the flavor really stuck out. I will definatley make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I always like to let a cake rest overnight before evaluating its flavor and texture, and I did the same with this cake. The pros: Super-quick to throw together, with a nice, subtle orange essence, and it was a moist cake. The sides were crunchy, but they softened overnight. The cons: the cake was moist, but oily; I think the reviewer below me has the right idea in subbing half of the oil for yogurt. The cake also had a strong eggy flavor. I didn't get a particularly dense or fluffy result; the texture wasn't bad, but the oily result and the eggy flavor were real turn-offs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Loved the fact that this called for orange juice, as I love any kind of citrus flavor. I didn't want to add a full cup of oil, so I ended up using 1/2 cup of orange yogurt in place of half of the oil. This resulted in a fluffier, less dense cake than most reviewers stated. It was still plenty moist with just a little orange flavor. Since I was taking these to work, I made them into mini cupcakes as well as mini Bundt cakes. I frosted with the golden orange frosting recipe (from this site), and they were just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I really didn't like this cake. Very eggy flavor, crunchy top and sides (I didn't overbake), and the texture was weirdly sticky and coarse. It was moist and not dense but overall just not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I just made this and it is EXCELLENT. So easy to make and so tasty! I have a lot of whole wheat flour so I added 1/2 cup of that instead of using all all-purpose-flour. I also added 1/3 cup less of sugar just because I don't like things too sweet and it still taste pretty sweet to me. I've tried other highly rated white/yellow cake recipes on this site and they turned out kinda dry, but this is the most moist cake I've ever baked. Finally, a cake I want to bake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
so i baked it for my family and they loved it the told me i had to make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I don't generally do this, but I decided to look at some of the reviews for this recipe, specifically, those rating it poorly. By and large I disagree with them, and can only report my own result - and here it is - MMMM-MM. Yes, it IS a heavy, dense cake - not all cakes are SUPPOSED to be light and fluffy! This cake would be ideal where a sturdy cake is needed for carving. It is rich and moist. It's deliciously, delightfully and delicately orange flavored. I was somewhat suspicious of the disproportionately high sugar to flour ratio, but I went with the recipe as written and wasn't disappointed. It might be a tad heavy on the oil, and I don't see that it would hurt anything to reduce it by 1/4 cup or so if that's more appealing to you, but I enjoyed this cake so much I'm not going to quibble about a couple of tablespoons! I frosted it with a vanilla buttercream and loved it. An orange flavored buttercream (including zest) would be nice with this too. On top of being toe-curling good, it couldn't have been easier to mix up and just HAS to be fool-proof because of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States