Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
While I appreciate the experience represented, the fact that one has dedicated his/her life to being a baker does not make one infallible. Fellow "non-experts," please remember this when reading reviews such as the previous one. :) Don't be afraid to try a recipe yourself, even if the professionals are naysayers. Now, for my experience... I made this recipe almost exactly as specified and it turned out great for me. Keep in mind that a cake made with oil will turn out a bit more dense. I think you also have to use some common sense with this one. It does not specifically say to use a mixer, but with most cakes you do. So, that is what I did with this one. Do not over-mix, though, or you will have an even denser cake. The only change I made was to use brown sugar instead of white. I also cut it down just a bit and added just a tad more flour to make up the difference (probably about 1/4 cup exchange). It looked like a slightly runnier cake batter when it was mixed completely. Also, before I added the wet ingredients to the dry, I mixed them first. Again, this just seemed sensible to me, based on other cakes I've made. I did cut back on the orange juice because I was afraid it would be overpowering to use as a strawberry shortcake. However, I wish I had not. The orange flavor would have been better with the full amount of juice. Great moist cake! Nothing wrong with the recipe. I think it just needs to be clarified a little to say exactly what it means.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
A little buttery, but otherwise fine. Great with orange flavored chocolate icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I made this cake bc I had all the ingredients already. I liked it very much it is very moist, since I didn't have any oj i used fruit punch. I did find the cake very sweet so I did not frost it next time I will use less sugar and maybe a little less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NadyasMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Good basic cake--works great for cake squares that get covered with fresh berries and cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoneville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Too dense and "eggy."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happykimmyj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
LOVED it. It baked beautifully and I really enjoyed the light orange flavors... yum! Delicious and perfect with a vanilla buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
AWESOME! I didn't have any orange juice so i used apple juice and it turned out moist and yummy! I would definately recomendant this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is so good! I added to mashed bananas and 1 1/3 cup of butterscotch chips to the mix. Then I baked it in a loaf pan for 45-50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantCook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Baked this once before and used milk and it turned out bad. I decided to give this another try with the exact ingredients except a bit altered and one word, AMAZING. LOVE the hint of orange in it. soo good! and it is SO moist it's unbelivable. I changed a couple of things though. 1 cup of sugar instead of 2 because it will be way too sweet and 2 eggs instead of 4. you have to try it and ignore all the bad reviews. They obviously didnt make it right the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I have to say that at the beginning, and after reading all the bad reviews, I thought it would be a dissaster. I was surprised with the results. I absolutely liked its apearance and taste. And best of all, it was easy to make with ingredients I had on hand. I would recommend you give it a try, you will probably be as surprised as I was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silmary_cd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States