Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I followed the instructions exactly, and while I liked the flavor of this cake, it is unusable as a yellow cake. It was dense, sticky, and had crusted edges. I used it instead as a "short cake" with some strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Followed the recipe to the T. It came out super eggy like other people said. Ended up cutting it up into small squares and put it out with jam and butter. Was like a cakey biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Best Birthday cake ever.With the buttercream frosting that has egg yolk...OMG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This is not a light and fluffy cake! With that being said.....I loved it. Its dense and moist, not too citrusy, and definatly hit the spot! I made it just as the recipe states. I added a light layer of butter frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
this is the best recipe I have found for yellow cake. it's so moist. I use it for my business
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni572

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Moist and delicious cake. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I am not an expert cook or baker, so when I bake especially new recipes I must follow the directions perfectly. I did, and this cake turned out great! It's moist and did not crumble at all. I'm always amazed at reviewers who change or modify recipes then complain that it didn't turn out or they didn't like it. I don't quite know why so many people had problems, but for me it was easy and tasty. I didn't use frosting. I drizzled orange juice mixed with a little powdered sugar over the top and it was wonderful. I did use a glass 9 X 13 pan so maybe that made a difference. This recipe is going in my keeper file for sure! Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Super simple recipe. Definitely not for decorating (or serving to guests), as it's too moist to turn out and has a lovely crunchy top that acts as a topping. Most recommended for a cake that's easy to make, has common ingredients and is for serving to the family. BTW it freezes well as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I followed the recipe except to swap out whole wheat pastry flour and barley flour for the all-purpose to add a little more nutrition and I made cupcakes instead of a cake. They came out totally sunken down in the middle and were very hard and chewy around the edges. Probably won't try this recipe again. They did have a good flavor though, and I even cut the sugar to only 1 and a half cups instead of 2. Two cups would have been WAY too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I made a pineapple upside down cake with this recipe, and it was perfect!! I cut the oil to 3/4 cup, used 1 less egg, and used the pineapple juice (from the pineapple can) instead of orange juice. Nice and moist, with a nice flavor. Super easy, too. I'll use this recipe often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States