Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Great just as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I finally found my favorite yellow cake batter!!! I have tried several recipes for yellow cake on this site and they all baked up way too dense. Dense is fine if I want a pound cake or decorating tiers but not for a simple moist cake. My kids loved it!! I swear I taste only buttery goodness but the recipe had not one drop of butter. The sweetness was divine and the icing I made up didn't get used because the cake was tasty without it. I don't know why some people had horrible outcomes but I followed the recipe exactly using freshly squeezed oranges for the juice. I have been using this site for a few years now and feel so excited to finally have a EASY yellow cake recipe to use from here on out!!! Can you say "HAPPYYYYYYYYYY?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Abdur-Rahman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I really like this cake. It is not a really light cake. I cut back the sugar 1/2 cup and cut back the oil to 3/4 cup. Other than that no other alterations. It came out excellent. My family loves it. I topped it with a whipped cream frosting I made myself, to which I added peanut butter to flavor since my family loves peanut butter. You could easily make this in two round cake pans as a layer cake with a filling of your choice. I will use this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Rolfe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I really like this recipe. The cake was delicious and got great compliments from my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I followed the instructions exactly, and while I liked the flavor of this cake, it is unusable as a yellow cake. It was dense, sticky, and had crusted edges. I used it instead as a "short cake" with some strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Followed the recipe to the T. It came out super eggy like other people said. Ended up cutting it up into small squares and put it out with jam and butter. Was like a cakey biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Best Birthday cake ever.With the buttercream frosting that has egg yolk...OMG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This is not a light and fluffy cake! With that being said.....I loved it. Its dense and moist, not too citrusy, and definatly hit the spot! I made it just as the recipe states. I added a light layer of butter frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
this is the best recipe I have found for yellow cake. it's so moist. I use it for my business
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef T

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Moist and delicious cake. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States