Yellow Cake Made from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This recipe was most delicious. The texture was very good. I halved the recipe, used it to make a pineapple mandarin upside down 9x9 cake and cut the baking time to 20 minutes. Also, I used egg substitute to cut down on cholesterol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I tried this cake recipe as a test run to begin teaching my friend to bake. Not only did this cake turn out very well, but it required very little ingredients, most of which are things i would have around my house anyways. It is confusing that people are complaining of the cake turning out dry or collapsing, these sound like issues of people that are actually paying too much attention to the recipe. Never trust bake times. just check it yourself. My bake time was a little bit longer than the recipe suggested. This recipe was easy, and tasty. Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I made this cake for the 1st time last night (along with an improvised, home-made cream cheese chocolate frosting) and it came out great. Like other users, I used butter instead of shortening. It came out looking exactly like every box cake I've ever made. It was not dry or dense. Then again, I took the time to follow the directions exactly. (grin) Yes, it's faster and easier to just make it all in one bowl or to throw all of the eggs in at once, etc but you won't get the same results. Follow the directions EXACTLY. Every step DOES make a difference in how your finished product will come out. You really need to add, mix, add, mix, add, mix as described or you'll end up with a saw dust tasting brick. In addition to doing the slow add/mix with the eggs, I also did that while adding the flour mix and milk. I added 1/3 of each in turn between mixings. My finished product was suitably light, tasted good and was very moist. Instead of the pan size suggested, I used 3 small square pans (as I love the frosting to cake ratio of 3 layer cakes) and baked it on the middle over rack for about 20 minutes on 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
easy to make, consistent cake and texture. Goes great with any icing I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This is a very good cake, I do not understand all tge bad reviews. Ive made it two times, i decided to make it because I was out of cocoa. It doesn't take much to make it. It tastes good. Ill be making it again too.I also used butter instead of shortening, because i was out of shortening, followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Family really enjoys this cake. The only thing is I add another teaspoon of vanilla extract to give it more flavor. Very nice and simple cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Very good cake, family enjoyed it. Followed the directions to the T, and it came out lovely. This is my new to go to recipe for yellow cake. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I like this recipe because it's simple but I made a few changes to the ingredients and method. I use 1/2 tsp of baking soda and 1 tsp of baking powder, 1/4 cup of applesauce and 1/4 cup of butter (instead of shortening). Then I mixed all my dry ingredients in a bowl and set to the side. Next I mixed my butter and applesauce, then added the sugar and vanilla extract and beat until fluffy, next beat in one egg at a time. Finally I added dry ingredients and milk alternatively. Taste the batter and you will know you have a good mix. I baked in two 8" round pans for about 20 mins. Amazing and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I have tried a lot of recipes for traditional yellow cake, this one is the best I have tried yet. Great Job!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
My sister and I tried making this from scratch, but it was definitely not what we thought. We followed the recipe exactly as it's posted except for the time, we baked it for 30 mins. Well the cake came out very dense not moist and of all it had a taste exactly like Cornbread. Not gonna be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States