Yellow Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
After reading the reviews, I made this cake with great expectations. The recipe itself was easy enough and the batter made up beautifully. The problem came with the baking. One reviewer noted that the baking time was excessive as her cake was done in 45'. I believe the problem with this recipe is not with the baking time but with the temperature. 350 degrees is too hot an oven for this delicate cake. I plan to remake this recipe and bake it at 300 degrees. This recipe can be used in a variety of desserts, and I believe that modifying the baking conditions will resolve any problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2001
This was wonderful! I had never known of a cake that was made like this so I just had to try it. My daughter's frineds ate the entire cake in 15 minutes and I made a second that same day for my family. It is nice that it doesn't use as many eggs as most angel cake recipes and has an incredible texture and crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Delicious. Has a great sweet taste. It's great by itself or with fruit (strawberries, blueberries) - doesn't need icing. I was intimidated at first by heating the sugar and water - but it wasn't a big deal and was a really easy cake to make. I would definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
This cake is more like a sponge cake. I think I would make it again but I would need to add some flavor to it. I think I probably would add some vanilla and either some orange or lemon zest or juice to it and reduce the amount of water to make up for the juice I add to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This is the best angel food cake! Plus, there are no leftover egg yolks and you don't need to use as many eggs as in other recipes. The texture is wondrfully moist and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
My friend and I made this cake...and followed each instruction very carefully. It went in looking like an angel food cake should, but didn't come out looking like one. Sure, it looked like a cake, but it didn't look like it had the light and fluffy texture an angel food cake should. When my friend and I tried it, it tasted like a normal yellow cake, and had that same heavy texture. It also tasted a bit like egg. I would suggest from making other angel food cakes to try it without the egg yolks. Whoever gave this recipe five stars has never had a real angel food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
not bad for a SPONGE cake ,,, but it is NOT angel food cake! should have read reviews first as baking time is a lot shorter than 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
Very good flavor. However I found that I had to reduce the cooking time. After 45 minutes I took it out of the over. I also found it difficult to remove from the pan neatly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
This cake was tasty but I didn't think it had the consistancy of angel food cake. I decided to try it because I hate wasting egg yolks! My husband loved the flavor but commented it was not spongy and light like other angel food cakes. It's an easy recipe but I prefer other angel food recipes over this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
Fabulous cake and uses only 6 eggs! Would try vanilla instead of almond flavoring next time. Was great dipped in chocolate fondue! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKING66

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States