Yellow Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
THIS CAKE IS NICE AND FLUFFY. I DID ADD SOME VARIATIONS TO THE RECIPE. I ADDED 1 TABLESPOON OF ORANGE ZEST, 1/2 TS OF ORANGE EXTRACT AND 1/2 TS OF VANILLA. I ADDED THESE BECAUSE WITHOUT IT THE CAKE IS A BIT BLAND. I ALSO LOWERED THE COOK TIME TO 35 MINUTES AND LOWERED THE TEMPERATURE TO 325 DEGREES. I WORK WITH AN ELECTRIC RANGE SO I KEPT A CLOSE EYE. ALL IN ALL A FABULOUS RECIPE. I PLAN TO SERVE IT WITH A WHIPPED TOPPING AND A TROPICAL FRUIT MEDLEY. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
My friend and I made this cake...and followed each instruction very carefully. It went in looking like an angel food cake should, but didn't come out looking like one. Sure, it looked like a cake, but it didn't look like it had the light and fluffy texture an angel food cake should. When my friend and I tried it, it tasted like a normal yellow cake, and had that same heavy texture. It also tasted a bit like egg. I would suggest from making other angel food cakes to try it without the egg yolks. Whoever gave this recipe five stars has never had a real angel food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
We call this "Fortune Cookie Cake" because everyone who tastes it says it tastes like a fortune cookie! It has an Angel Food cake consistency, and mine rose well, but fell in the middle a bit as it cooled. Overall, it was great with strawberries and whipped cream, and I kinda like the fortune cookie taste! (I did add vanilla). Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This cake was ok, but i was very disappointed on how it didn't rise.and It smelled like a flan due to all the eggs. don't think i'll do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
this recipe was AWESOME! i made cupcakes with it! but ONLY BAKE FOR HALF AN HOUR! REPEAT, ONLY BAKE FOR HALF AN HOUR ON 350 DEGREES F!. they tasted sooo good! sticky, sweet, firm but soft and peerrrffeeeccccttttt! here they are:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
This cake was tasty but I didn't think it had the consistancy of angel food cake. I decided to try it because I hate wasting egg yolks! My husband loved the flavor but commented it was not spongy and light like other angel food cakes. It's an easy recipe but I prefer other angel food recipes over this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
Though this cake was easy to make, and tastes quite good (not sweet though -- very eggy) it shouldn't be advertised as an angel food cake. Also, it took about 20 minutes in the oven, so it's a good thing I didn't leave it in there for an hour!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Giordana
Living In: Cobble Hill, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
not bad for a SPONGE cake ,,, but it is NOT angel food cake! should have read reviews first as baking time is a lot shorter than 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
After reading the reviews, I made this cake with great expectations. The recipe itself was easy enough and the batter made up beautifully. The problem came with the baking. One reviewer noted that the baking time was excessive as her cake was done in 45'. I believe the problem with this recipe is not with the baking time but with the temperature. 350 degrees is too hot an oven for this delicate cake. I plan to remake this recipe and bake it at 300 degrees. This recipe can be used in a variety of desserts, and I believe that modifying the baking conditions will resolve any problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This is the best angel food cake! Plus, there are no leftover egg yolks and you don't need to use as many eggs as in other recipes. The texture is wondrfully moist and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States