Yeast Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Wonderful! I now make these every Sunday morning! Definitely give it at LEAST 1 1/2 hours to rise before making waffles (if you don't you'll end up with dense, less flavorful waffles - I did that once) and overnight is really the best if you can think about breakfast that far in advance (which I can't). If you like pancake mix waffles then this might not be your thing, but if you like old-fashioned waffles that don't taste like pancakes in a different shape, these are for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
Yummy but a bit time consuming. Make sure to let the milk cool so it's no hotter than the warm water or else the yeast won't work. My husband and I almost ate the whole batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
These waffles are great. Making the batter the night before is great. They keep warm and don't get soggy in the oven. And they taste great! My son, who loves waffles, said these are among the best I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
All I can say is -- EXCELLENT. These are the only waffles I'm making from now on. They are crunchy and light -- PERFECTION!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
This recipe made crisp and flavorful waffles. I heated the milk in the microwave, and then threw the stick of butter in the hot milk to melt it. I mixed up the batter in my standing mixer and left in in the mixing bowl overnight. In the morning, we were baking waffles in no time! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
I could never make waffles before this recipe. Now I can! My husband and I love sourdough bread, and these waffles have just the hint of sourdough to make them a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
Very good. Made recipe as stated, no tweaking. Recipe halves very nicely. Finally - crispy waffles! The other cook is right - these are NOT pancakes in a different shape, thankfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Very good. Have never made waffles from scratch before now. Definately worth it. I added 1/2 t of cinnamon and an extra 2T sugar and some extra vanilla. I let it set out for about 16 hours because we didn't get around to breakfast until lunch. When it was done with butter and powdered sugar it tasted almost like french toast. Very light and puffy.Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This is definitely a 5 star recipe! I made it for Christmas Eve Day breakfast and with being able to prepare it the night before it was a breeze. The waffles are light and crispy on the outside and soft inside - delicious! We put chocolate chips in some, pecans in some and bacon in some which made for a nice variety for our waffle buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This is a good recipe! Good flavor, good texture, and I love that I can mix it up ahead of time. I mixed it up before going to work, and made them for dinner--nice & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States