Yeast Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
this was very good I added 1 Tablespoon of Sugar. add 1 teaspoon Vanilla. Very light and Crisp waffle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I made this recipe pretty much as written. I didn't bring the milk to "bubbling" as I feared it would then be too hot and would kill the yeast action. I brought the milk to 110 degrees instead. The batter mixed very well and it bubbled and frothed during the 6 hours that I let it sit. I used an electric waffle maker which tells you when the waffle is done. It had always worked well before. This time, the waffle was very pale when the maker said it was done so I let it cook a bit longer to get a bit of "crunch" on the outside. When removing the waffle using a fork, the tender texture of the waffle could not withstand its own weight and the waffle would tear. They were very tender on the inside, actually too much so for my liking. The taste - while okay - was not extraordinary. I think I'm going to keep looking for a waffle with a bit more body and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I have tried several waffle recipes and found these to be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! These are super easy, crispy on the outside, and soft on the inside (regular waffle maker, not Belgium waffle maker) with a wonderful yeasty taste. I inadvertently doubled the sugar, but they weren't "sweet". I really wouldn't change a thing about this recipe even though I did make a couple of changes. As I said, I accidentally upped the sugar, and because I decided to make this recipe at the last minute when I already had yeast bloomed in 1 Cup of water for a bread recipe I realized there was no time to make. Because of that, I used the 1 cup of water and reduced the milk to 1 1/2 cups and hoped for the best. I'll do it as instructed next time, but it did work fine. I made this Christmas Eve to have for Christmas breakfast. Since there are just 3 of us, I had batter left and now 2 days later I used the batter for waffles for supper and I do believe it may be even better today. The batter gets very thick, almost more dough-like than batter, with a wonderful yeast flavor. I'll certainly make this over and over. Thank you for putting an end to biscuit mix waffles in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimosa ain't no PRO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Light, fluffy, tender but with a lightly crisp exterior. Love that you can make it ahead of time and all you have to do is start cooking them the next morning. I was introduced to these at a Saturday morning Christmas breakfast and my friend who made them sent the leftover batter with me to make some for my grandsons. I was able to find the time to make them Wednesday evening and the batter was still perfectly good so I would hazard to say that, kept good and cold in the refrigerator, the batter would be good for up to a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This was AMAZINGLY EASY to make! I'm cooking the waffles right now and eating them almost as they come out of the iron they're so yummy. I like a savory waffle; if you are looking for something with sweetness look ELSEWHERE. Woohoo! A GREAT breakfast that's not terribly hard to do :) It tastes a lot like sourdough, which is EXACTLY what I was looking for with this recipe. I WAS kinda tentative adding the eggs in this morning; the dough (or, well, it LOOKED like dough; I bake a lot of bread) more than doubled and had a nice skin on top. Make sure you blend it well (I don't have an electric mixer, all by hand... took me about as long as it took my waffle iron to heat up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
OMG had these waffles for brekkie this morning and they are to die for. Best waffles ever. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rubee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I had been using a non-yeast waffle batter recipe for weeks now and I'll tell you........I don't think I can go back to using a waffle batter without yeast. The flavor of these waffles was amazing and they turned out incredibly light and fluffy. We all agree that this is one of the best waffle recipes I've made yet. EXCELLENT. Very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Delicious! I was not disappointed. Made these this morning and love them. Making another batch for tomorrow for daughter and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
this was the best waffle i have ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jack david

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States