Yeast Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
The first batch I made, I followed the directions and ingredients to a "T", but they were VERY bland, so I added more sugar and vanilla and that helped a little. I didn't particularly like the sour taste the yeast gave, either. This may be an "ok" base waffle mix but just add cinnamon or chocolate chips to pizzaz the flavor a bit. Even with syrup, they still weren't that great. As is 2 stars (plus a half star because it did have a nice crunch), with added sugar and vanilla, I'd give it a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is my favorite yeast waffle recipe! They seem like a cross between waffles and french toast! YUM!! Once I even forgot to add the eggs and soda the NEXT morning (as the directions said to) instead, adding them both AT THE SAME TIME that I made the rest of batter (the night before). I was really worried that I'd ruined them, but when I went to bake them in the waffle iron the next morning they ended up being just perfect! (This is a "forgiving" recipe!) Just be sure that your yeast is good!! I love that you make the batter ahead of time and don't even have to refrigerate it...just cover and set out on the counter. My family LOVES these served with "Nutella" or, buttered with a lovely topping made from 1 can of "Cherry Pie Filling" (well warmed in micro-wave) with a 1/4 teas. real vanilla and 1/4 t. Almond flavoring) added....and don't forget the whipped cream! *Totally decadent!!* (If you use home canned cherries in juice (1 qt.) you need to thicken them first with 1-2 T. corn starch, bring to a boil on med. heat and add 3/4 to 1 Cup sugar--or to taste. If 1/4 t. of Almond flavoring seems like too little you can always add a bit more, also to taste!) Great for Mothers Day Brunch with bacon or sausage on the side! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I've tried so many waffle recipes looking for this outcome. I'm so happy I can stop searching. They are light and crispy on the outside and very flavorful without being too sweet or pancake tasting. To those of you who may not realize, yeast is a living thing and if you treat it right, it will do just what you ask of it. Make sure the warm water is as close to 110 degrees as possible and make sure the milk is too when you add them together. If they are too cold the yeast will remain dormant but too hot will kill the yeast. Both will result in no rise. Also, putting the mixture in the refrigerator instead of letting it out will cause the yeast to go dormant too. I also suggest putting the sugar into the warm water with the yeast to give them something to feed off of. Thank you so much, Janet for sharing this. I would give it a ten if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I make these with 100% whole wheat flour, and substitute vegetable oil for the butter - the waffles are as light and crisp as anyone could ask for, and ridiculously easy. You'd never know they were whole grain. To make the prep even faster, I use instant yeast, which requires no proofing (1 1/4 teaspoons added with the rest of the dry ingredients), hot tap water and cold milk. Works like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I have always used a box mix to make "homemade waffles". I like to freeze them then put them in the toaster like you do with store bought ones. I was unsure what to expect with this recipe! The morning i made them the family didn't seem to impressed but I froze them anyway. Over the next few days we finished them off. We never eat waffles that quick. We loved them and you get a lot of waffles if you have a smaller waffle iron. It made 36 waffles. I will never make box mix waffles again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carlinville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
my son really liked these, my hubby couldn't care either way, but the dough was really thick and hard to work with. waffles were firm and froze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
this was very good I added 1 Tablespoon of Sugar. add 1 teaspoon Vanilla. Very light and Crisp waffle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I made this recipe pretty much as written. I didn't bring the milk to "bubbling" as I feared it would then be too hot and would kill the yeast action. I brought the milk to 110 degrees instead. The batter mixed very well and it bubbled and frothed during the 6 hours that I let it sit. I used an electric waffle maker which tells you when the waffle is done. It had always worked well before. This time, the waffle was very pale when the maker said it was done so I let it cook a bit longer to get a bit of "crunch" on the outside. When removing the waffle using a fork, the tender texture of the waffle could not withstand its own weight and the waffle would tear. They were very tender on the inside, actually too much so for my liking. The taste - while okay - was not extraordinary. I think I'm going to keep looking for a waffle with a bit more body and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I have tried several waffle recipes and found these to be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! These are super easy, crispy on the outside, and soft on the inside (regular waffle maker, not Belgium waffle maker) with a wonderful yeasty taste. I inadvertently doubled the sugar, but they weren't "sweet". I really wouldn't change a thing about this recipe even though I did make a couple of changes. As I said, I accidentally upped the sugar, and because I decided to make this recipe at the last minute when I already had yeast bloomed in 1 Cup of water for a bread recipe I realized there was no time to make. Because of that, I used the 1 cup of water and reduced the milk to 1 1/2 cups and hoped for the best. I'll do it as instructed next time, but it did work fine. I made this Christmas Eve to have for Christmas breakfast. Since there are just 3 of us, I had batter left and now 2 days later I used the batter for waffles for supper and I do believe it may be even better today. The batter gets very thick, almost more dough-like than batter, with a wonderful yeast flavor. I'll certainly make this over and over. Thank you for putting an end to biscuit mix waffles in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimosa ain't no PRO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States