Yeast Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I've not had much luck with waffle batter until now. The first time I made this I tripled the recipe so that my dept. at work could have a "Waffle Wednesday" breakfast. HUGE hit-- We had three waffle machines going at once! The reviews from all was a unanimous “outstanding!”. Crispy on the outside, light on the inside, with a nice rich flavor from the yeast. I also added a little vanilla. This is a keeper. I love that it needs to be made the night before so that I don't have to get up extra early in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shinjuku, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
The best waffle recipe I've found!! I love the ease of preparing at bedtime and just finishing 'em off and throwing them in the waffle iron in the morning! Like other reviewers have stated I found they make a big batch and so I freeze the left-overs. To re-warm them we throw them in the toaster (for just a short bit so they don't burn!)and they come right back to life just as if they were just cooked! Very, very good recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
The good thing about this recipe is that it doesn't taste like the plain old waffles that you get from a boxed batter. It does have a fresh-baked bread taste. My waffles didn't turn out crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. They were actually kind of limp...I suppose it could actually be a problem with the waffle iron. The batter was also extremely thinner than what I'm used to. All in all a decent recipe and easy to execute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This really is a great recipe! I often cater brunch and this is a favorite of everyone. Most of the work is done the night before. With a couple of steps in the morning and you have a wonderful breakfast. I use a belgian waffle iron that flips and I wipe the hot iron with a stick of butter before each waffle. I always serve these waffles with fresh whipping cream, real maple syrup, and an assortment of berries. I disolve the sugar in the water before adding the yeast to help it rise. Other than this step, I wouldn't change a thing in the recipe!!! If you do any research and look for an authentic Belgian recipe, I think this "yeasty" recipe is very close in taste but is much easier than the traditional Belgian recipes. They are even better the second or third day. When I have extra batter, I freeze it in individual serving bags and put them in the freeze for my son who is away at school. I haven't used the frozen batter for clients but my son loves having this taste from home while he is away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I really enjoyed the crisp/firm consistancy of this waffle recipe. For my personal taste, I would use less yeast and add malt flavoring to create a more "hotel restaraunt" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
My hubby made these last night so we could serve guests for breakfast. Very happy! These are definitely worth passing on the Bisquick! So yummy and such a different taste than plain ol' waffles. We doubled and cooked up a bunch of waffles and put them in small freezer bags for quick before school breakfast. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Myers Heath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
This is my favorite waffle recipe. I would give it five stars but I cannot remember to put this together the night before usually. I have actually doubled the yeast and let it rise for aproximately 3 hours and had a passable result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
As others have said, this recipe makes nice light, crispy waffles. Unlike pancakes (or waffle-shaped pancakes), I easily ate two waffles and didn't feel like I was waddling away from the table afterwards. Based on comments posted here, I added 1 t. of vanilla to the batter to enhance the flavor but I really like the idea of making a savory waffle by adding crumbled bacon, so plan to try that the next time out. The batter was easy to put together. I scalded the milk in the microwave, then stirred the butter into it to melt; saving me an extra dish to wash. Being able to leave the batter to work overnight made for a quick finish of the dish in the morning. I'll definitely use this recipe again; especially the next time I host a brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This is a good recipe! Good flavor, good texture, and I love that I can mix it up ahead of time. I mixed it up before going to work, and made them for dinner--nice & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This is definitely a 5 star recipe! I made it for Christmas Eve Day breakfast and with being able to prepare it the night before it was a breeze. The waffles are light and crispy on the outside and soft inside - delicious! We put chocolate chips in some, pecans in some and bacon in some which made for a nice variety for our waffle buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States