Yeast Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This was not my favorite way to prepare waffles, but I think it is just a personal preference. The yeast smell and taste was overwhelming, in my opinion. However, in all fairness, the waffles looked beautiful and they were very light and airy and crispy on the outside. I see these on restaurant menus all the time and have never ordered them, so I assume they are very popular. Just not in my family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C R Henning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
These are the best waffles I have ever had. They are so light and crisp, they almost melt in your mouth. I didn't change the recipe at all. I like the fact that you can do most of the preparation the night before (a real time-saver). Thanks for this recipe. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
These waffles bake up with a nice crisp crust but are soft on the inside. We always add other items when baking waffles like dried fruit, nuts, and chocolate chips (my wife's favorite). I usually add dried cranberries and walnuts (or pecans). A plus to this batter is that it doesn't rise as much as regular waffle batter so it's easier to get the right amount into the iron without spillover. After making these I was outside and the smell was wonderful. As a night person, I prefer breakfast recipes that have most of the work the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Absolutely the best waffles we've ever had, anywhere, anytime. I let the batter sit for only 2 hours (because I didn't read the entire recipe before I started) and they were crisp on the outside and fluffy on the inside. They were served with strawberries and whipped cream with one person just using butter and maple syrup. All of us thought they were beyond delicious and we could open a restaurant with this recipe! The serving size is right on, this batter made 6 servings of 2-4" waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This recipes is by far the best waffle recipe I have tried. I made the batter last night and the only change I made was heating the milk in the microwave as one review suggested. I took my batter and belgian waffle iron to work and made waffles for our weekly meeting. I got rave reviews. This will now become my go to waffle recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
The recipe worked great & the waffles had lovely texture. I loved the yeast smell, but thought the flavor was just okay. Maybe I'm a just a traditional waffle person. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
very good as writen, I did change it to 3 servings used 1/2 cup buckwheat flour, placed 1/2 strip cooked beacon in each waffle before pouring in batter. They were crispy and light even with the heavier buckwheat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed.Dolanski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Very good waffles. I increased the amount of sugar to 1T, and added 1/2t. vanilla, and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
omg!!!! these were soooo good, even my boyfriend who always criticizes my homemade waffles loved these. i will definately make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monika

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Loma Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Love it!!! I love these waffles. They're awesome. Slather them with butter, peanut butter, caramel, banana and peacan and you will think you're in heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States