Yeast Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Wonderful! I now make these every Sunday morning! Definitely give it at LEAST 1 1/2 hours to rise before making waffles (if you don't you'll end up with dense, less flavorful waffles - I did that once) and overnight is really the best if you can think about breakfast that far in advance (which I can't). If you like pancake mix waffles then this might not be your thing, but if you like old-fashioned waffles that don't taste like pancakes in a different shape, these are for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This really is a great recipe! I often cater brunch and this is a favorite of everyone. Most of the work is done the night before. With a couple of steps in the morning and you have a wonderful breakfast. I use a belgian waffle iron that flips and I wipe the hot iron with a stick of butter before each waffle. I always serve these waffles with fresh whipping cream, real maple syrup, and an assortment of berries. I disolve the sugar in the water before adding the yeast to help it rise. Other than this step, I wouldn't change a thing in the recipe!!! If you do any research and look for an authentic Belgian recipe, I think this "yeasty" recipe is very close in taste but is much easier than the traditional Belgian recipes. They are even better the second or third day. When I have extra batter, I freeze it in individual serving bags and put them in the freeze for my son who is away at school. I haven't used the frozen batter for clients but my son loves having this taste from home while he is away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I had been using a non-yeast waffle batter recipe for weeks now and I'll tell you........I don't think I can go back to using a waffle batter without yeast. The flavor of these waffles was amazing and they turned out incredibly light and fluffy. We all agree that this is one of the best waffle recipes I've made yet. EXCELLENT. Very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
This recipe made crisp and flavorful waffles. I heated the milk in the microwave, and then threw the stick of butter in the hot milk to melt it. I mixed up the batter in my standing mixer and left in in the mixing bowl overnight. In the morning, we were baking waffles in no time! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
Yummy but a bit time consuming. Make sure to let the milk cool so it's no hotter than the warm water or else the yeast won't work. My husband and I almost ate the whole batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
These waffles are very light and crisp. Because they aren't sweet, you could use them for a savory meal (topped with chicken and gravy, for example). I enjoyed mine with bananas, walnuts, butter and maple syrup, and because they're so airy, they practically melted beneath the toppings. I froze the leftover waffles, but when I reheated them they were crunchy like crackers! The recipe is fine, but I prefer a more substantial non-yeasted Belgian waffle. Not a do-over for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This is definitely a 5 star recipe! I made it for Christmas Eve Day breakfast and with being able to prepare it the night before it was a breeze. The waffles are light and crispy on the outside and soft inside - delicious! We put chocolate chips in some, pecans in some and bacon in some which made for a nice variety for our waffle buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Same recipie a good friend gave us. My husband, the "non-breakfast" eater LOVES them!! So do my kids. Me...I still prefer a good pancake (griddlecakes on this site are AMAZING). I will make them again for everyone else. Note: they do take a bit of forethought...not something you decide to make one morning for breakfast. Great, yeasty flavor and aroma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
These waffles bake up with a nice crisp crust but are soft on the inside. We always add other items when baking waffles like dried fruit, nuts, and chocolate chips (my wife's favorite). I usually add dried cranberries and walnuts (or pecans). A plus to this batter is that it doesn't rise as much as regular waffle batter so it's easier to get the right amount into the iron without spillover. After making these I was outside and the smell was wonderful. As a night person, I prefer breakfast recipes that have most of the work the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
These waffles are great. Making the batter the night before is great. They keep warm and don't get soggy in the oven. And they taste great! My son, who loves waffles, said these are among the best I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States