Yeast Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
My family and I had both sweet and savory versions of this. The texture of the waffles is wonderfully moist on the inside and crispy on the outside. They were substantial but not heavy, too. With bacon and cheese in the middle, these were great for brunch, and a blueberry waffle with syrup at the end felt like dessert. Be aware that the batter is more like dough in consistency, but the waffles turn out great. I will be making these for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Best waffles we've ever had. Its just my husband and I, so we usually half the recipe and its perfect. Light & fluffy. Super tasty with pretty much any syrup, but we love having it with pure maple syrup, fresh strawberries & whipped cream. Deeeelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MakamaeB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I love that these are so good with so little sugar. The little crunch on the outside of the waffle is exquisite. Made the batter with my son the night before Mother's Day so he and DBF could make breakfast for me. I made a half batch. The OnLy issue I had was trying to put the batter in a quart jar...overflowed all over the counter....I scooped up as much as I could and put in my biggest Tupperware--cooked up great the next morning. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Excellent. Wife and kids loved them. I made them (exactly as written) special for Mother's Day! A big hit. No comparison to store bought mixes. Using the flip top Belgium waffle maker I got about 5 1/4 out of the mix. It is tough to gauge how much mix to add to each waffle. I overfilled a few which I'm sure I can prevent in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
The first batch I made, I followed the directions and ingredients to a "T", but they were VERY bland, so I added more sugar and vanilla and that helped a little. I didn't particularly like the sour taste the yeast gave, either. This may be an "ok" base waffle mix but just add cinnamon or chocolate chips to pizzaz the flavor a bit. Even with syrup, they still weren't that great. As is 2 stars (plus a half star because it did have a nice crunch), with added sugar and vanilla, I'd give it a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is my favorite yeast waffle recipe! They seem like a cross between waffles and french toast! YUM!! Once I even forgot to add the eggs and soda the NEXT morning (as the directions said to) instead, adding them both AT THE SAME TIME that I made the rest of batter (the night before). I was really worried that I'd ruined them, but when I went to bake them in the waffle iron the next morning they ended up being just perfect! (This is a "forgiving" recipe!) Just be sure that your yeast is good!! I love that you make the batter ahead of time and don't even have to refrigerate it...just cover and set out on the counter. My family LOVES these served with "Nutella" or, buttered with a lovely topping made from 1 can of "Cherry Pie Filling" (well warmed in micro-wave) with a 1/4 teas. real vanilla and 1/4 t. Almond flavoring) added....and don't forget the whipped cream! *Totally decadent!!* (If you use home canned cherries in juice (1 qt.) you need to thicken them first with 1-2 T. corn starch, bring to a boil on med. heat and add 3/4 to 1 Cup sugar--or to taste. If 1/4 t. of Almond flavoring seems like too little you can always add a bit more, also to taste!) Great for Mothers Day Brunch with bacon or sausage on the side! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I've tried so many waffle recipes looking for this outcome. I'm so happy I can stop searching. They are light and crispy on the outside and very flavorful without being too sweet or pancake tasting. To those of you who may not realize, yeast is a living thing and if you treat it right, it will do just what you ask of it. Make sure the warm water is as close to 110 degrees as possible and make sure the milk is too when you add them together. If they are too cold the yeast will remain dormant but too hot will kill the yeast. Both will result in no rise. Also, putting the mixture in the refrigerator instead of letting it out will cause the yeast to go dormant too. I also suggest putting the sugar into the warm water with the yeast to give them something to feed off of. Thank you so much, Janet for sharing this. I would give it a ten if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I make these with 100% whole wheat flour, and substitute vegetable oil for the butter - the waffles are as light and crisp as anyone could ask for, and ridiculously easy. You'd never know they were whole grain. To make the prep even faster, I use instant yeast, which requires no proofing (1 1/4 teaspoons added with the rest of the dry ingredients), hot tap water and cold milk. Works like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I have always used a box mix to make "homemade waffles". I like to freeze them then put them in the toaster like you do with store bought ones. I was unsure what to expect with this recipe! The morning i made them the family didn't seem to impressed but I froze them anyway. Over the next few days we finished them off. We never eat waffles that quick. We loved them and you get a lot of waffles if you have a smaller waffle iron. It made 36 waffles. I will never make box mix waffles again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carlinville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
my son really liked these, my hubby couldn't care either way, but the dough was really thick and hard to work with. waffles were firm and froze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States