Yeast Raised Christmas Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
Amazing waffles..my family loved them i made them the night before and let rise overnight this only made them better..our family's fave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
I put my waffle iron away two years ago and never used it again. Recently my teenager asked me to make waffles since I could not stand those boxed waffle mixes, I turned to this site. I woke up this morning, put the mix together, and got back in bed with the Sunday paper while the mix rose. These are the best waffles ever. Even my ten year old who hates breakfast foods of any kind loved these. My neice who says she doesn't like waffles had two plates. My teen hasn't gotten up as of yet, but when he does he will have a hot, wonderful, met-in-your-mouth waffle. The waffle iron is now out of retirement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH BOOTHE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Excellent waffles! I got a new Belgian waffle maker at the Black Friday sale yesterday and decided to use this recipe in it first. I was a little concerned about them being too eggy, so I only used three eggs. We really liked the light, airy texture, yet crispy outsides. We ate them with butter and syrup or apple butter, but I can't wait to try them with strawberries and whipped cream! My waffle maker must be a little smaller than the recipe author's, because I got 6-1/2 waffles out of this recipe. The leftovers went into the freezer for a quick breakfast another day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This recipe was a little time consuming for the end result. They tasted great, but not a whole lot different from, say, Bisquick. My husband couldn't even tell the difference. But, they were still really good. I just don't know if they're different enough to make the prep time worth it. Also, if you're looking for a crisp waffle, this isn't the recipe, But I like mine soft. I made it the night before and let it rise in the fridge-still turned out fine. It did make more waffles than the recipe indicated, which wasn't a problem! I made the rest up and froze them. I tried one today after popping it in the toaster and it still tasted great! I would probably make this again, but only if I have time to kill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKIIEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
This is the best yeast waffles I've been able to find so far. They do have to cook for a little while longer than usual to get the outside really crispy like we want. I'll keep looking for the "perfect" belgian waffle, but will definately keep this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
I made these waffles for Christmas breakfast.They were cripsy on the outside and light as air. I will be making these again - and often! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I have tried other waffle recipes from this site and this by far is the best. Nice crunchy outside, soft in the middle. The first time I tried this I followed the recipe...excellent. The 2nd time I tried it I didn't have the time or all of the ingredients...turned out great also..here is what I did the 2nd time. I didn't have time to whip the whites, so I just added them whole. I also ran out of vanilla, so I used immitation rum extract. It gave the waffles an awesome flavor. Also for the milk, I always use non-fat milk, so I added the sugar to the warm milk then sprinkled the yeast. It frothed up better that way. Kids thought these were the cream of the crop. Oh..I also had my waffle iron on 6 (hottest setting). Happy waffle making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Isleton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
The best waffle recipe I've ever come across, hands down. Great frozen & thrown in the toaster for a quick breakfast too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
These waffles are delicious. I made them for my husband just this weekend and I don't think we will ever go back to making waffles with a pancake mix again! Since I like my batter a little sweeter I added 1 tbsp of brown sugar and little extra vanilla. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Not terrible, but not what I was expecting. I will keep looking for that perfect yeast waffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States