Yeast Raised Christmas Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I have tried other waffle recipes from this site and this by far is the best. Nice crunchy outside, soft in the middle. The first time I tried this I followed the recipe...excellent. The 2nd time I tried it I didn't have the time or all of the ingredients...turned out great also..here is what I did the 2nd time. I didn't have time to whip the whites, so I just added them whole. I also ran out of vanilla, so I used immitation rum extract. It gave the waffles an awesome flavor. Also for the milk, I always use non-fat milk, so I added the sugar to the warm milk then sprinkled the yeast. It frothed up better that way. Kids thought these were the cream of the crop. Oh..I also had my waffle iron on 6 (hottest setting). Happy waffle making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Isleton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I love yeast waffles and this recipe was excellent! Had with spiced strawberry syrup (from this site) and whipped cream. So good---thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I'm sorry but I would never make these for Christmas. They're just not that good. Ok but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Good flavor, but a lot of work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
This recipe was okay, but not any better than the "Everyday Waffles" from Better Homes & Gardens and much more time consuming. I used unsalted butter and would use salted if I made it again. Mine did not brown evenly, and as another reviewer said, were soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
This is the best yeast waffles I've been able to find so far. They do have to cook for a little while longer than usual to get the outside really crispy like we want. I'll keep looking for the "perfect" belgian waffle, but will definately keep this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This recipe was a little time consuming for the end result. They tasted great, but not a whole lot different from, say, Bisquick. My husband couldn't even tell the difference. But, they were still really good. I just don't know if they're different enough to make the prep time worth it. Also, if you're looking for a crisp waffle, this isn't the recipe, But I like mine soft. I made it the night before and let it rise in the fridge-still turned out fine. It did make more waffles than the recipe indicated, which wasn't a problem! I made the rest up and froze them. I tried one today after popping it in the toaster and it still tasted great! I would probably make this again, but only if I have time to kill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKIIEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
These waffles were a bit time intensive, but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
The first time I prepared these waffles, I did not let the batter rest 45 minutes and they were still wonderful! The second time, I waited too long and they were still wonderful. I also sustituted whole wheat pastry flour each time. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
This was my first attempt at waffles from scratch. They were by far the best we have had. Next time I would add a bit more sugar for my tastes, but otherwise they were wonderful: very light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States