Yeast-Free Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This was a super easy, quick bread. I wanted to make some bread, but realized that I was out of yeast, so I found this recipe. I used Target-brand lemon-lime soda and added about a teaspoon of salt. I also spread the bread with the "Garlic Butter" recipe from this site and ate with some homemade soup for dinner - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I recently developed food allergies and one of them is to yeast. This bread is a life saver. It is easy to make, tastes great and is cheaper than buying the bread from the health food store. Thank you for this recipe. 5 stars... Used it as a bun for my hot dog last night and I felt like I wasn't compromising any taste. I also want to mention that I am also allergic to corn, potato and grapes. I had to use regular flour (same amount) and then used 2 tsps of starch free baking powder with 1/2 tsp salt. I cut back on the sugar and used lime carbonated water! Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
I made this bread for my best friend, as she is allergic to yeast. I was skeptical at first. I used Sprite diet soda. Today she opened her "gift" and we had a toasted piece. WOW! It was so good. She said she could easily get hooked on this bread and was cheaper than what she was buying at the health food stores. She is making another loaf tomorrow. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
This was so easy and tastes great. Thanks so much! I'll be making this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayne City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I loved this recipe. It was the first time I've baked bread and it was so simple. It's a bit doughy after you first take it out of the oven, but is fine when you let it sit for two hours. I found keeping in a tupperware container that it stayed fresh for a couple of days. I used one can of sprite zero. It has a touch of sweetness and goes great with sugar free jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This was the first "from scratch" bread I baked. I was going to pass it up and decided...if it comes out bad, what did I really waste. I have no complaints whatsoever and would reccomend it to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This was a super fast to prepare and super easy bake! Tasted great too! I shared it with my co-workers, and I didn't have to print the recipe, it was so easy to remember. I'm going to try it adding Italian seasonings and parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Rice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I loved this recipe. I made it twice, so far, once plain, and once with garlic. I used a can of regular Sprite and 1 Tbs. sugar, next time I would not add the sugar. I also added a few thin slices of butter on the top. I used it to make grilled cheese sandwiches and just served plain. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This gives new meaning to the term 'soda bread'. I thought I had really messed it up (didn't have self-rising flour, used 2 tsps. baking powder and 1/2 tsp. salt added to reg. flour, plus I baked in a pie plate), but the flavor was really, really good! I was so surprised at the taste. Kind of chewy and slightly sweet (I used 7-Up and only 2 tablespoons of sugar). There is something magical about this strange combination, but it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This recipe is so great! I used 1 tbsp of splenda instead of the sugar. I also added a pinch of salt, then cooked it as described in a tin foil pan. It makes the best sandwiches!! I did't think I would ever eat bread again and this recipe has given me a new life with bread! I cannot recommend this recipe enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States