Yeast-Free Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I am gluten-free and I don't tolerate yeast well, so I decided to try this recipe with an all-purpose gluten free flour. I went ahead and used 2 1/4 cups g-f flour and 1/4 cup of ground flax seed (to ensure a bit of a nutty flavor and for extra nutrition), then added 1 tablespoon of baking soda and 3/4 teaspoon of salt (because there is no such thing as self-rising g-f flour). I did not use any of the sugar, but used 12 ounces of 7 UP. I baked it for 50 minutes. I had a bit of trouble getting it to turn out of my small loaf pan, so I will use more grease/flour next time. IT IS DELICIOUS and has a perfect texture. Please note: I did NOT use any xanthan gum. I look forward to adding some herbs to it in the future just to experiment with more tastes. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing the original recipe on-line!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I have made this several times since I found out I have to be yeast free for a few months. This bread is awesome and so easy. I use Lime Lacroix, 1 tsp sugar and 1 tsp salt and various seasonings depending on what I am pairing it with. Tonight, I added some dried jalapeno and chipotle seasoning. Italian is also really great! This past weekend, I made pigs in a blanket, it was a hit, but very messy to make. Though worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bevjern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mamacrocker
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Just made this recipe, omg amazing! I added garlic, parsley and a garlic sprinkle. Also sprinkled 3 cheeses on top....needless to say it's already half eaten!! I would recommend to anyone with taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by superkat
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
So easy and so good! I used a can of non alcoholic beer and it turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This is an excellent recipe, tastes great. I use lemon flavored sparkling water from Trader Joes and added 1/4 teaspoon of baking powder and 1 teaspoon of salt, made 6 bread rolls and baked for 20 minutes at 350 degrees. Excellent toasted then spread with Peanut butter and jelly and when I make Tuna Burgers. Not bought bread since I found this recipe. Also freezes well. Thank you Andrew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This sounds good, but is there a yeastfree bread without the use of soda? Maybe replace the lemon lime soda with Club soda? Thank you to all who reply!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tibear2010
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Incredible but true! This works and it's good. I used bread flour, 2tsp of baking powder and 1tsp of salt with a can of 7up, I didn't add sugar, and voilà! I made them into 14 mini buns (12 if I would have really overfilled them) I added a picture for you to see. Cooking time is about 20 minutes +. Check with a toothpick for readiness. Now I'm ready for my Christmas diner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This bread is shockingly good! My son was recently diagnosed as having a yeast intolerance, and he was really missing bread. I made it for him this morning, and we're both having it for lunch. Not having self-rising flour, I used 3 cups baker's flour, 4 tsp baking powder and 1 tsp salt along with a can of Sprite and 1/4 cup olive oil. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This tastes just like the homemade bread my mom would make when I was a kid but without the hours of proofing, kneading, and hoping it wasn't too burnt at the end! Fantastic recipe, passing it on to Mom right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAETHELYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I used seltzer water because that was all I had and I made my own self rising flour. This was okay. The kids liked it, they both ate several pieces spread with butter. Both the husband and I like beer bread much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States