Yeast Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2001
These were delicious! You've got to try these! Smelling them cook was almost as good as eating them. I coated some with cinnamon sugar in a ziploc bag, and dipped the rest in glaze. YUMMY! My son wants me to make a batch for his 1st grade class at school. I would suggest just a variety of doughnut holes for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hubbard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
one of the best doughnut recipe I have ever tried! and most important,my kids helped me and love to eat them too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Great recipe it's very similar to one I have been using for years. A tip for first timers: the side that you have facing up while rising turn them over and deep fry that side down first and it will help the doughnuts rise better and they wont turn out as cake like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This is my favorite recipe so far and I have gotten a lot of compliments on this recipe and everyone has asked me for it that has tasted the doughnuts. I did dissolve the yeast in 1/4 cup of lukewarm water instead of using a mixer, you may have to increase the flour if you use this method, and let rise till double, then shape or cut, then let rise again. I also used a glaze of 3 cups powdered sugar, and 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla, and 3-4 tablespoons milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
There are several reasons why this might be tricky: using yeast always is. The disasters some have noted almost certainly occurred because the yeast was dead (stale). It might be advisable to proof the yeast before making the recipe: dead yeast will never leaven anything. Also, if one wishes a fluffier or lighter doughnut, don't bat the dough down completely: fluffier dough means a fluffier outcome. I must say I make this with sugar substitutes (being diabetic): xylitol or Diabetisweet (an Isomalt product) works fine: indeed, xylitol can be bought in powdered "confectioners'" form. It also helps to add some "nonbulk" sugar substitute also, Splenda (Sucralose) being preferred, in addition to the xylitol or Diabetisweet (which should replace granular and confectioners' sugar on a one-to-one basis): I would suggest four or five packets per recipe. Keeping your yeast alive and happy till baking is, I would say, key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
Great tasting! The dough needs to rise twice so be sure to plan ahead. These were very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
My husband made your yeast doughnuts recipe and the dough did not raise. He said he followed the recipe and the yeast was just purchased a few days ago and was fresh. We are wondering what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
do not overbake these! once i learned not to overbake, they taste like the 'real thing'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hsin-Hsin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
These are Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by handymark

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by delaineyrae
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I'm pretty sure I'm done trying different doughnut recipes. This one turned out just how I like them. I put a basic glaze on them and sprinkled my left over holiday sprinkles on them for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delaineyrae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States